Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question SP1 fails on Win7 Enterprise x64

    I've spent about 5 hours today trying to put SP1 on a HP Compaq 6000 Pro small form factor PC. It gets to 99% of configuring Windows, reboots and then I see
    Failure Configuring Service Pack
    Reverting changes.
    Do not turn off your computer.


    What do I look for once it gets done reverting the changes?
    Mike W.
    Location: A Great Plains State

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Enterprise is not a consumer version of Windows 7.

    Are you trying to use Windows Update, or have you downloaded the IT version to install from the hard drive?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    (Is this forum just for consumer versions?)

    I first tried through Windows Update, then downloaded the stand-alone installer from MS. Same results both times.
    Mike W.
    Location: A Great Plains State

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Have you checked the SP1 pre-requisites?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Running the System Update Readiness Tool (KB947821) now.

    [Later] The Tool found no errors, according to the logs. I noticed a bunch of .NET Optimization errors in the Application log, so I'll try to fix those.
    Last edited by Mike68847; 2012-09-21 at 18:18.
    Mike W.
    Location: A Great Plains State

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You might have to uninstall all your .Net versions, then reinstall them. SP1 should then install OK.
    I think SP 1 had some issues with corrupted .net.
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think you're right. I just tried an install in Safe Mode, after updating .NET from Windows Update, and it still failed. My boss will want me to re-image it come Monday morning.
    Mike W.
    Location: A Great Plains State

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •