Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts

    Thumbs up And the answer is... YES!

    W/ Vista & Windows 7 it was not recommend & not supported to go from the RC (a beta) to Final (RTM or GA) via Upgrade. However, for quite a while now there has been discussion, curiosity, some saying yes & some no & some general uncertainty regarding Windows 8 RP (beta) to Final via Upgrade.

    Many people, of course, would like to be able to do this (or, indeed, need to). Well, I, too, have been asking Microsoft about this for a while, seeking a definitive answer. I put the query to my cousin who works for MS @ the Redmond Campus. WE both thought it would be doable & OK. Today he has sent me this which, you will appreciate reading.

    http://www.winsupersite.com/article/...preview-144319

    Bear in mind, of course, one had/has an underlying non-beta Windows OS before & to get or have the RP.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2012-09-23 at 01:39.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    According to the linked article, the key factor is that you had to have started the Windows RP install from within a qualified OS (XP,Vista, Windows7).

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    But, of course

    "Bear in mind, of course, one had/has an underlying non-beta Windows OS before & to get or have the RP."

    Even in a dual boot scenario, this would be true.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    I installed Windows 8 over Windows 7 professional (64-bit) and all programs, files and setting integrated just fine. (Even Microsoft Media Player and Windows Image backup--neither of which come with Windows 8). I wonder if this will be the case with the retail version when it comes out later in October?
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Again, Peter, answer is, yes. This may help explain - http://www.nirmaltv.com/2011/11/24/u...-to-windows-8/

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    petesmst (2012-09-27)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •