Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Homegroup setup

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Homegroup setup

    I cannot remember whether I just didn't set up the Homegroup [I thought I had] or "left" it at some point. In either case, it isn't accessible now. When I try to set one up or join one, it tells me that my computer's network location must be set to Home.

    What/where/How? Will this impact my [obviously working] present network/internet settings?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    For home group to work you do need to have your network location set to home. That is why it is called Home group. It is a safety control as only computers connected to your home network can be join a Home group.All computers that you want to join must also be set to Home location.
    Setting your location to home will not affect your present setup but when out and about it is safer to temporarily set your location to Public but remember to reset it to home when return.
    You should be able to change your location in Network and Sharing Center and clicking on the blue link below the network name.
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2012-09-23 at 04:19.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I found it -- thanks Clive. I'm unclear: If I set it to 'Public' [as it was] would that disable the Homegroup -- since it wasn't letting me set up a Homegroup? And then, am I to understand that "Public" actually gives 'anyone' access to what I put in the shared folders -- or just those that have access to the network? Wouldn't that be what the "Home" setting does?

    mumble...mumble...
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    The "Set Network Location" box where you make the change explains that if your location is Home then the network is trusted but if your location is Public then the network is UNtrusted.

    So you're not granting access to anything when you're out in public.

    Bruce

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Oh...duh...thanks Bruce.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •