Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Kelowna BC CANADA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to get Acronis Secure Zone off iomega external HD

    I wish to use my iomega external HD on my new laptop. However the HD has beeen used with "Acronis True Image" and I have no access to the software to remove the "Secure Zone"

    Can anyone tell me how to remove the secure zone without using "Acronis True Image" ??

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,763
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 541 Times in 498 Posts
    Use a free 3rd party partition application to delete the partition, then you should be able to resize as needed.
    I use this partition tool currently.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,441
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    I suggest using the Bootable CD version in CLiNT'S link.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,626
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 934 Times in 854 Posts
    It seems many of us are using Partition Wizard. It is a fantastic free app. I do not believe you can go wrong.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,763
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 541 Times in 498 Posts
    I usually try to use the default W7 disk manager utility as a first resort, but recently I found need for a partition
    tool that I could creat a bootable disk to use with, and this fit the bill nicely.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Kelowna BC CANADA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried Partition Wizard BUT the Acronis Secure Zone does not show. It is realy hidden.
    Parition Wizard shows my drive as 232.88GB TOTAL. It is a 500GB drive. I assume the discrepancy is the Acronis Secure Zone.

    Any ideas how to remove it would be appreciated

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,763
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 541 Times in 498 Posts
    Use the bootable disk that Partition Wizard will alow you to create, then delete and format the entire drive.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,720
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 648 Times in 586 Posts
    See the link here and scroll down to manual removal:
    http://kb.acronis.com/content/1624

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,441
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphrob View Post
    I tried Partition Wizard BUT the Acronis Secure Zone does not show. It is realy hidden.
    Parition Wizard shows my drive as 232.88GB TOTAL. It is a 500GB drive. I assume the discrepancy is the Acronis Secure Zone.

    Any ideas how to remove it would be appreciated
    Download Acronis Recovery ISO and burn to a CD. It can be used to remove the Secure Zone. http://www.mediafire.com/?qbwuxcixxc3ja8d
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2012-10-02 at 04:27.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphrob View Post
    I tried Partition Wizard BUT the Acronis Secure Zone does not show. It is realy hidden.
    Parition Wizard shows my drive as 232.88GB TOTAL. It is a 500GB drive. I assume the discrepancy is the Acronis Secure Zone.

    Any ideas how to remove it would be appreciated
    Does it show any unallocated partitions or blank partitions when using the bootable CD? (a must to see all parts of hard drive).
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Kelowna BC CANADA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    See the link here and scroll down to manual removal:
    http://kb.acronis.com/content/1624

    Jerry
    This requires Acronis True Image be installed. That is my problem

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Kelowna BC CANADA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    Does it show any unallocated partitions or blank partitions when using the bootable CD? (a must to see all parts of hard drive).
    No Partition Wizard only shows the useable part of the disk

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Kelowna BC CANADA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Download Acronis Recovery ISO and burn to a CD. It can be used to remove the Secure Zone. http://www.mediafire.com/?qbwuxcixxc3ja8d
    Your link is BLANK

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,441
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphrob View Post
    Your link is BLANK
    I have just tested it and it works for me.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,720
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 648 Times in 586 Posts
    This requires Acronis True Image be installed. That is my problem
    Not for the manual method listed at the bottom of the page

    Removing Acronis Secure Zone manually:
    Fix/restore the Windows Boot Loader (see Restoring Windows Boot Loader Manually http://kb.acronis.com/content/1507 ) if Acronis Startup Recovery Manager is activated
    Delete the Acronis Secure Zone partition (by means of Windows Disk Management, for example

    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •