Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    Do you have disappearing Restore Points?

    Then read this article.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I don't use System Restore as Acronis does it better. My image is related to RG's link.

    Untitled.png
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    RR, Acronis does not replace restore points. I find restore points have a place in a good, layered, system protection strategy. I recently had issues with a Windows Update and I got rid of it simply by using System Restore. Using images would be a waste of time and effort, IMO, although it would solve it too.

    I feel that using System Restore does give you more flexibility to deal with all situations you can face with your computer. It's not a case of everything looking like nails, when you have the hammer (imaging, in this case).

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Rui, as stated previously, I use Acronis as recommended in their User Guide and not as stated by some of the members. i.e. I only do 'One Click' backups.
    -
    Acronis One-Click Backup
    The Acronis One-Click Backup tool allows you to begin protecting your computer as soon as you install Acronis True Image Home. During installation the program creates Acronis One-Click Backup shortcut on the desktop.

    Double-clicking the shortcut starts the One-Click Backup tool, which automatically backs up your system partition and the Master Boot Record (MBR) to a location it considers the optimum place for backups. If there is no suitable location for the backup, the program displays an error message.

    By the way, later you will be able to refresh the system partition backup by double-clicking the shortcut again.

    If you choose to not use the One-Click Backup shortcut, Acronis True Image Home will offer to perform One-Click Backup during the first start after installation, as well as schedule subsequent full backups.

    The Acronis One-Click Backup tool performs only full backups of the system partition; scheduling an incremental or differential backup is not possible. In addition, it does not support backup of drives protected by BitLocker Drive Encryption in Windows Vista.
    As we already mentioned, Acronis True Image Home offers the optimum place for backups.

    To run the backup task, just click the Proceed button.

    If you click Cancel, the One-Click Backup will be canceled. If you decide to use this feature later, click Tools & Utilities in the main menu and then choose One-Click Backup.

    You can change the default settings:

    To change the Archive location option, click the predefined path and specify another location.

    To change the Schedule option, click the predefined schedule description and specify a new schedule.

    How it works

    1) First of all the program estimates the space required for operation of the One-Click Backup tool.

    2) If you have upgraded from a previous Acronis True Image Home version and already have Acronis Secure Zone, the program will check its size and when the size is sufficient for backup, it will use Acronis Secure Zone. In case the zone is too small for backing up the system partition, the program will move to the next best option.

    3) If there is an external hard drive with enough free space, your system partition backups will be stored on that drive, as such backup place will provide better protection for your computer.

    4) If the first two options are unavailable but you have at least two internal hard drives, the program will back up to a non-system hard drive using a partition with the maximum free space.

    5) If your computer has only one hard drive with several partitions (not counting hidden ones), then the program will use a non-system partition with maximum free space.

    6) Finally, if your computer has only one hard drive with a single partition (not counting hidden ones) with enough free space, the program will suggest creating Acronis Secure Zone to use it for backup. If you agree, the program will create the zone and use it for storing the backup.

    If you start Acronis One-Click Backup the first time by double-clicking the appropriate shortcut, the program will not suggest creating Acronis Secure Zone.
    After applying this algorithm to your computer configuration, Acronis True Image Home will offer the optimum place for storing your backups. If you would prefer another storage location, click the offered path and select the storage location most suitable for you.

    When the archive storage location is a removable drive (usb/firewire/eSATA), the backup will begin automatically when the device is plugged in but only when a scheduled backup has been missed. The removable drive must be the same as the one used for all previous backups, if you plug in another removable drive, the backup process won't start.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I don't use System Restore either and don't advocate it's usage. System Restore is a band aid solution at best.
    There is no alternative to a decent backup and recovery regimen.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    I don't use System Restore either and don't advocate it's usage. System Restore is a band aid solution at best.
    There is no alternative to a decent backup and recovery regimen.
    I didn't say it was an alternative. I said it's another tool. You don't need to restore a system image if you can resort to System Restore. For situations where it can be applied, it's easier and faster, that's all.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I know, I just wanted to take the opportunity to slam it.
    There is something about System Restore that irritates me to no end.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Ok .

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    I know, I just wanted to take the opportunity to slam it.
    There is something about System Restore that irritates me to no end.
    It must have upset you in the past!

    System restore (or System Protection as it's called in Win7) is a heck of a lot more reliable these days and can be the ideal quick fix.

    It also offers "previous versions" of data files so that you can restore an individual file rather than a full system restore.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I'm leaning toward Clint's position. In the past I have been disappointed with the results from System Restore, so much that I have it turned off in Win 7. It is still on in Win 8, but I have never used it!

    I have used my Images many times in both Win 7 and Win 8. (I like to play around with things and often screw up, Oh Well that's what Images are for). I do not remember a successful use of System Restore. Imaging just works so well for me, every time!

    Win 8 has a couple of other options, Reset and Refresh. I have not used either, but have read of others that have. It takes longer than a reinstall, I would assume because the Refresh for example has to conserve settings and apps, so has extra steps. Again, Imaging just works for me. I am presently using Acronis TIH 2013 and it seems to be working well, both in Win 7 and Win 8.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    It must have upset you in the past!
    It certainly has upset me, because it wipes out all my Norton AV updates and it takes forever to re-download them to say nothing of the bandwidth, although that is not the problem it once was, for me. BJ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •