Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question IE9 extremely slow loading pages with Win7 Home Premium

    Using 64 bit IE9 under Win7 it takes 4 or 5 minutes for IE to display a page (for example yahoo.com, which is the home page). This is a fairly new eMachines PC. Win7 has all updates installed (auto download and update is on). Chrome and Firefox work great as well as Windows Explorer and everything else I've tried! IE7 under XP on a laptop connected to another port on the router works fine as well. I've tried resetting IE settings with no improvement. I downloaded and tried to reinstall IE9 but it said a "later" version was already installed. I am suspicious that IE is corrupted in some way. I've thought of doing a repair install, a complete reinstall, and reverting to IE8. I wonder if one of the latest updates to IE may have gone awry. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Before going the repair install route I would uninstall IE 9. This will automatically reinstall IE 8 (assuming you started with IE 8 originally). CP, Programs and Features, link on left to View Installed Updates. Find IE 9 on the list and choose Uninstall. This will uninstall IE 9 and install IE8. If IE then begins working appropriately, it does indicate a corrupted install. If it is still working slowly it could be a system corruption.

    You could also try to delete all TIF, cookies , history, etc. using Internet Options. This might have an affect.

    You can also try IE Safe Mode. You can see if this is the problem with your IE by going to the START menu and clicking RUN. Type “iexplore -extoff” and then click OK.
    If this fixes the problem you probably have a malfunctioning add-on. You will have to disable add-ons one at a time to find the offending item.

    Post #41 of This Thread may give a hint as well. Or perhaps this thread will help.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-10-01 at 05:40.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    riffraff (2013-01-25)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks very much. I'll definitely give those a try. I believe the "reset IE settings" did already delete all the cookies, history, etc. and turned off all the add-ons, but I'll check to be sure. I should also say that this is my sister-in-law's PC, so I don't know if IE8 was originally installed. I know it's pretty new but I'm not sure exactly when she got it. I can find that out hopefully from her. I'm not even sure yet what she has in the way of an install disk. I'll definitely give your suggestions a try the next time I go over to her house, which may be later today. I had tried to uninstall IE9 already but did not know to do it through the Updates path. Thanks again.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Problem solved, thanks very much!!! I first reverted to IE8 and deleted all the TIF, etc. with no improvement. Using IE8, yahoo.com took about 1.5 minutes to display anything and about 3 minutes to say "Done". I then tried iexplore -extoff and IE8 loaded and displayed yahoo.com so quickly I really could not time it. I narrowed the problem down to an addon called "Shockwave Flash Object". With that disabled, it seems to work fine. I've also switched her over to Firefox, but I did not want to leave IE in an unknown problem state in case she must use it for some particular site, and on general principles as well. AFAIK it is still pretty integral to the OS. I then re-updated to IE9, downloaded and installed MSE, and everything still seems fine.

    When I first started on this problem several days ago, I ran SuperAntiSpyware, MalwareBytes and SpybotSearchAndDestroy. One of them found a thing called PUM.Hijack.StartMenu. Of course I did not like the sound of that and removed it with whichever tool found it. (Should have kept better records, but I didn't.) I am now wondering if that may have started the whole thing and perhaps corrupted the Shockwave Flash Object in some way.

    Thanks again!

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I'm glad I was able to point you in a productive direction. Adobe Flash should not cause this, but it seems older versions of Flash were under constant attack. It is possible the malware you found did cause the corruption.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My IE browser keeps broken when I am watching video online and recently it comes a lot of pop ups?
    Does it really have some bugs??

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,874
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    If you are getting a lot of unexpected popups, download and run Malware bytes and SuperAntiSpyware .

    Jerry

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I ran into the same problems. It took me all day to go through all the posts and then determin which of addons were causing the problem. It turned out it was the Adobe Shockwave Flash Object that was the cause of the problem. Don't know if this will help or not, but hope so.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •