Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Running 32 bit AutoCad in Windows7

    The company I work for is upgrading all the computers to Widows7 Prox64. It seems that we can not install our copy of Autocad 2007 as it is 32 bit. There seems to be a whole raft of people in the same boat with most of the Autodesk software.
    In my searching.. there seems to be several options available.. besides upgrading to the current 64 bit version.. installing it in WindowsXP mode... or using something called WOW64

    Can anyone advise on how one would install this 32 bit application using WOW64..

    Thank you for your time.
    Ralph

  2. #2
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    According to the AutoDesk/AuoCAD support forum, AutoCAD 2007 is not supported under Windows 7. That's not to say it won't run at all, just not supported (and hence could be broken by a MS update or other interaction).

    From that forum, it seems the most compatible way to install is to upgrade AutoCAD to Service Pack 2.

    WOW64 is the mechanism that 64 bit Windows run 32 bit programs - there is nothing that you need to do to implement it (it's automatic and embedded within the OS). Most 3rd Party software is still 32 bit.

    I wouldn't recommend trying XP Mode to run this software. XP Mode is limited to a single core on the CPU and generally leads to poor performance with intensive software such as AutoCAD.

    I would have expected your IT dept to have reviewed this question as part of their software audit process early on in the migration programme.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One would think.. Our IT department is not much for planning. Will try the XP mode route.. if it doesn't work we can perhaps justify a better computer.. software upgrades are harder.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I do consulting for many different people, this comes up ALL THE TIME!! I just use the Longbow Converter tool to enable 32bit AutoCAD to run on Windows 7 64bit - I've had 100% success with AutoCAD 2007 32bit on Windows 7 and Windows 8 64bit, so I recommend it 100%

    Hope it helps

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to tomhurns For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2013-04-25)

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 209 Times in 201 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tomhurns View Post
    I do consulting for many different people, this comes up ALL THE TIME!! I just use the Longbow Converter tool to enable 32bit AutoCAD to run on Windows 7 64bit - I've had 100% success with AutoCAD 2007 32bit on Windows 7 and Windows 8 64bit, so I recommend it 100%

    Hope it helps
    Tom:

    I took a different route with my wife's AutoCAD 2007 setup -- we got an XP computer, because I KNEW that it would work in that environment.

    Had I known about Longbow Converter, we would have gone with a brand-new Windows 7 64-bit computer with lots of memory, without hesitation.

    Jim

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •