Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Unable to do anything other than boot windows - no permission for anything

    This morning, my wife's laptop seemed to be trying to fix some disk corruption on boot-up. It started OK; she did what she needed to do and put it to sleep before heading off to work. I needed to use it this evening, but when I booted there was no desktop background, though there were desktop icons. It seemed that the system tray was not fully populated, and it claimed there was no network. Whenever I try to run any program, or use anything in control panel, I get the error message, "windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item." This happens on all accounts, limited and admin. I can't do a thing, but the files all seem OK. I've rebooted several times.

    It's a Samsung, so I accessed the Samsung recovery option from boot and chose to restore main windows files, leaving data intact (I'm afraid I don't keep on top of my wife's backup regime like I do my own - dreadful behaviour). On reboot it wouldn't boot so now it's running Startup Repair. Anyone have any experience of this and any good suggestions? I've found a few suggestions here and there, some of which require me to use control panel functions which I can't, and others which I don't quite understand any more (I switched to mac and Linux five years ago, and I've forgotten a lot of what I used to know about windows systems - I was still on XP and refusing to switch to Vista).

    My only thought at the moment is to pull the drive out and put it in a caddy so I can make sure I've copied all the documents and pics off it, then do a clean install. Anything better or quicker to do?

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Startup repair failed, and identifies the root cause as "Unspecified changes to system configuration might have caused the problem." Error code: 0x1f

    I don't feel like that helps me!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Can you boot to the installation disk, Repair my computer. Command Prompt:

    sfc /scannow

    This might find and fix system files
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply. I don't have an installation disk - it all came preinstalled. And I failed to produce recovery disks - tried 2 or 3 times and it failed each time, wasting me a couple of DVDs each time. It was one of those things I always intended to sort out . . . oops!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried a system restore from the recovery options but that apparently failed too.

    But something's worked, because I've been able to boot again - this time I heard usual boot sounds (hadn't realised they weren't there before), the antivirus software started, and I can load programs again. So, time for an up-to-date backup before I do anything else. Then try to sort out the recovery disk issue. I'm tempted to do a clean install once i have the discs produced in case this gremlin raises its head again - I used to do so regularly in my XP days, but that feels a long time ago! Any other advice from wiser loungers?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    If you can boot to safe mode, use Programs, Windows System, right click Command Prompt and Run as Administrator, then try the sfc /scannow
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now I've managed to reboot, is it still a good idea to use scannow? I don't remember ever using it before.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Scannow is a great tool for fixing system files. I would highly recommend running it. I just ran it on my PC to ensure it would work properly from within Windows. It will take a while.

    Are you sure you do not have any malware or virus on the PC? A complete scan with a good AV and a complete scan with Malwarebytes Antimalware and Spybot Search and Destroy would be in order as well. After Scannow of course.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-10-03 at 17:33.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •