Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger catilley1092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    SSD Data partition fills when running OS from main HDD

    My MSI notebook has a Crucial M4 128GB SSD, this is where my OEM install (Win 7 Pro) is. There are four partitions, recovery, system, OS Install & Data.

    When I use my DVD drive adapter/converter to run Windows 8 RP, using my stock HDD, in essence having two HDD's installed, something is causing my Data partition on my SSD to fill, or nearly fill, to within 900MB of it's 41GB capacity. Normally, it has almost 8GB of free space.

    But I can't find what's filling it, the existing folders are the same size, and none were added. I simply have less free space. The only thing that I could do to fix the issue was to copy each folder over to a USB3 Flash drive, quick format the partition & restore the folders. Then the partition reports the correct amount of free space.

    Anyone have any idea of what's going on here? I plan to purchase another SSD to put in that converter to run Windows 8 on, in the very near future, & use my stock HDD within a USB3 enclosure that I bought for it. But this issue needs to be made right first.

    My specs are below, if needed.

    Cat
    My System Specs:

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/N...gWw3zT1A30RkV3 MSI Notebook (OEM Win 7 Pro x64)

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/8...3hQlSkXzuDfbKb Dell XPS 8700 w/Windows 8

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Use an app like treesize to find the space hog. http://www.jam-software.com/freeware/index.shtml

    Jerry

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    catilley1092 (2012-10-28)

  4. #3
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    It's possible that when booting from the Win8 HDD Windows 8 is building a System Restore area on the data partition.

    Using the Tree Size app that Jerry linked to, check if you have a large System Volume Information folder on the Win 7 SSD - You may need to run it from Windows 8 to see the restore volumes on the SSD. Then, verify using this method in Windows 8 if the Win 8 System Restore is enabled for that partition.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Tinto Tech For This Useful Post:

    catilley1092 (2012-10-28)

  6. #4
    Star Lounger catilley1092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks to both of you for replying. I'll reinsert the HDD containing Windows 8 tomorrow & see what happens. Hopefully this will narrow it down.

    Since XP, System Restore hasn't proven to me to be the useful tool that it used to be. Back then, I could always depend on the app to bail me out of trouble, but since Windows 7, it's failure rate is much higher than it's successes. I've heard various things that messes up the System Restore process, such as some 3rd party defrag & backup apps, but I can't nail it down. On my wife's XP laptop, it still works fine.

    The only System Restore that I depend on is a physical backup. As long as my backup drives are working, it's been dependable, 100% of the time.

    I'll report back on this as soon as I can get the tests run.

    Cat
    My System Specs:

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/N...gWw3zT1A30RkV3 MSI Notebook (OEM Win 7 Pro x64)

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/8...3hQlSkXzuDfbKb Dell XPS 8700 w/Windows 8

  7. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Sounds like Windows 8 is defaulting some components to the "faster drive".
    When in W8 I would physically check where the PF and SR locations are defaulted to.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    catilley1092 (2012-10-28)

  9. #6
    Star Lounger catilley1092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Sorry for the late response, but Clint is correct. The OS was apparently looking for a faster drive, as it did run faster than normal, for a 5400 rpm HDD with 8MB cache.

    I've since removed that HDD & OS from my notebook & will run 7 Pro alone on there.

    Windows 8 Pro has been installed on my desktop, which gets the most benefit from the OS.

    Many Thanks for all answers provided.

    Cat
    My System Specs:

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/N...gWw3zT1A30RkV3 MSI Notebook (OEM Win 7 Pro x64)

    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/8...3hQlSkXzuDfbKb Dell XPS 8700 w/Windows 8

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •