Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: new tabs

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    new tabs

    I'm using Win-7 and Firefox, mostly Firefox. Lately I've had a problem with Win-7. When I click on a link that opens a new tab, the tab comes up but it's blank. Obviously I picked up a virus or something. I use MSE, Malwarebytes, and System Mechanic. Also I've run Esetsmart,, msert, CCleaner, and WinPatrol. Nothing is found with any of those programs. Other odd things happen, sometimes the Back button is invisible, and when the new tab comes up the only thing in the tab is a small 'e'. I hope you can help. I'm running a Gateway PC and I don't have the Win-7 CD. I should have mentioned, the problem is with Internet Explorer, ver 9.0.8112.16421.

    Joe Kovacs
    Last edited by jgk1938; 2012-10-09 at 15:30.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    A couple of things you might try;
    1. Reset IE9; Tools>>>Internet options>>>Advanced tab>>>Reset
    2. How to reinstall or repair Internet Explorer in Windows 7
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Clint, I reset IE9, no help. I tried to reinstall IE9 on the link you mentioned. It won't install because it says there is a newer version already installed.

    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You might try to go to Programs and Features, Installed Updates (link to left of Windows) and find IE 9. Uninstall it. This will return your browser to IE 8. Then download and reinstall IE 9.

    This all presupposes that your OS started with IE 8 and was upgraded to IE 9. If you started with IE p, see if you can find any IE 9 updates to uninstall from the list of installed updates.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Medico, I did what you suggested, uninstalled IE9, I had the same problem with IE8. Reinstalled IE9, same problem. My PC did start with IE8, there's nothing earlier than that. I now have IE9, the same version that I mentioned above.

    Joe

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Try opening an admin command prompt and type in "sfc /scannow" no quotes. This will check system files for errors and try to repair them.

    You can also download an ISO for win 7 from Here and burn it to dvd to use as a repair disk or reinstall using your product code which should be somewhere on your computer or manuals if OEM installed.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •