Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wireless access-point issues: can't see network devices on primary router

    Hi Guys. I'm new to the forums and was hoping you can help.

    I've setup a second wireless router (Netgear WGR614) as an Access Point, connected to the primary wireless router (Dlink 655) via powerline.
    All is up and running apart from one issue.

    If I connect to the primary router wirelessly I cannot see other network devices/PC's but have internet access. If I connect to the AP I can see all network devices and also have internet access.

    If I take the AP (and powerline) out of the equation, the primary router works perfectly and I see the network devices and have internet access.

    I've disabled UPnP, DHCP and firewall in the AP and have separate SSIDs etc as needed to get the second router up and running as an AP.

    Does anyway have any idea as to what I may be doing wrong as all settings seem to be correct?

    Please help!

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,619
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    I would connect the Netgear directly to the Dlink and see if it's still a problem. Then just connect the powerline adaptors.
    Have you connected to the Netgear via the WAN port or LAN? You may find it's OK if you use a LAN port.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Paul. I tried what you said prior to posting and everything is setup correctly I.e. second router connected to LAN not WAN
    Strangely, just tested with another laptop and everything is working perfectly. Seems to be windows related rather than a network issue .…. Still a mystery as to what's going on. Maybe a bad windows update??

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,619
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    Check that all PCs have an IP address in the same range, assigned by the same DHCP server.
    Open a command prompt and type: ipconfig /all
    You should see something similar to this.
    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : timothy
            Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
            Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-5D-97-9C-A0
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
     DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
                                                194.168.8.100
            Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 October 2012 17:11:03
            Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 15 October 2012 18:11:03
    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Definitely not an IP issue. It's all set up correctly.
    Main router has DHCP on, and the WAP has DHCP and firewall turned off. Reserved IP set for the laptop on the main router which filters through to the WAP.
    The offending laptop has Internet access from both wireless routers (main and WAP) but network devices can only be seen if:
    1) connected to the WAP
    2) connected to the main router if the WAP is disconnected

    This issue only occurs with this single laptop and not with other laptops and wired PCs. The settings on both laptops are identical, so it's a complete mystery as to why it's doing this. Both laptops are Windows 7 and the offending laptop is a new build!
    Gremlins maybe?

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,619
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    Which laptop has a reserved IP? The one that works?

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The laptop that doesn't work has the reserved IP. Odd…

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,619
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
    Remove the reservation and test.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •