Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Burlington ON , Canada
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Motherboard change leaves HD in place

    Hi all, I had a procedure, by Microsoft, which involved command line commands to prepare for a M/B change leaving the old Hard drives in place. You would enter the commands and then shut the Computer off. Replace the M/B and all was suppose to be well Win7 retail version. Now I can't find the instructions. Is anyone aware of the procedure. I looked on the web but no luck. Your help would be greatly appreciated. Regards Peter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    One procedure is listed here:
    http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2007/...lling-windows/

    If the drivers for the new motherboard are significantly different from the old ones, it might not work but all you lose is time.

    If you are trying to save activation, see:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/75496/how-t...to-reactivate/

    Jerry

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Petrox,

    When doing a motherboard swap, make sure you've uninstalled any software with a limited number of installs (e.g., Dragon Naturally Speaking, Windows Office, Adobe Photoshop), as these will read the new M/B as a new install and ding you accordingly (or fail to work at all).

    Zig

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    You could make a backup image of your hard disk before replacing MB then once you have fitted the MB restore to the hard disk from image checking that HDD is formatted at same time. This may allow you to boot with all software installed. If it fails to boot try using the repair startup option on the windows CD. to see if it will fix the boot.
    Make sure in bios that the HDD is second only to the cd/dvd option in boot order.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Burlington ON , Canada
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you all. I will let you know how it went after the M/B swap. Here is the link I was referring to in my original post SysPrep to move HD to another computer Regards Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •