Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Banned Member
    Thanks

Thumbs up Just smile & wave bye-bye...

Just to add to this, regarding Search; yes, one can go through Charms & using his example begin typing N-O... once you then click on Notepad, it appears back on Desktop. But, it is, also, not necessary or the only way, to go via Charms... WinQ (all Applications), WinW (Settings) & WinF (Files) OR, also, hit the Start button OR WinKey and begin typing anywhere, N-O & again, hit Notepad & it opens back on Desktop... carry on w/ whatever you were doing.

The writer of the article has been using Win8 for 2 months. I have been using it for 7 months and I will definitely vouch for what he says; there, absolutely is no suffering from the lack of the old start menu or button. And, yes, one can access things quicker & more directly w/ Windows8... and, btw, this is w/out using the Start screen (except, maybe, for the occasional Search) or any 3rd Party add-ins or retro-fits... they are not needed, @ all. And I will, still, fully support what he says, even though my usage is on a NON-TOUCH PC. The 'flow' of navigating, is, still, indeed, smooth, quick & easy, even w/ a mouse.

As I have previously said, it is wrong telling people there is a problem due to a lack of start button/menu. Would be better, more helpful & appropriate to tell them how to use what IS Windows8 which, (actually) has a Start button & no need for (going through) the old start menu.

http://www.zdnet.com/removing-start-...do-7000005631/

Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

Thanks
    I have just uninstalled Classic Shell and added the Desktop Toolbar. I will be using the Desktop UI in this manner until the release date of Win 8 Pro. I will see if it grows on my a little more. I am keeping my Favorites Bar Toolbar and my Shortcuts Toolbar I have previously discussed (I used these since Win 7 anyway so why not continue).