Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22
  1. #16
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Unfortunately Eric, that happens regularly. Many add suggestions and nary a peep from the original OP to let us know if the problem is fixed.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. #17
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey I have the same problem. I was not able to boot my computer in normal mode. And in safe mode it was snail speed. I executed sfc /scannow and I was able to open in normal mode. But I am not able to do anything else other than hovering over the home page. Can you help me with this ?

    Appreciate you helping people out over here.

  3. #18
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    We would need a lot more info on your PC, specs, version of Win 7, etc.

    How long has it been since you did any maintenance on the PC, cleaned up temp files, cleaned out all the non-essentials startup apps in Windows. How long since AV/AM scans? What AV/AM apps do you use.

    Many slow downs such as this are malware and virus related.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #19
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi, I've just had the same thing happen, I realise this is an old thread now, but help would be appreciated as I need my laptop for uni studies, it's a Lenovo T400 ThinkPad

  5. #20
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willythewhelk View Post
    Hi, I've just had the same thing happen, I realise this is an old thread now, but help would be appreciated as I need my laptop for uni studies, it's a Lenovo T400 ThinkPad
    Please answer the same questions as in post #18.

    Joe

  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi, just got my laptop back from the repair shop, it was a mixture between a faulty hard drive, loose SATA connection and malware, hopefully this helps anyone that has the same issue diagnose what may be wrong with their machine

  7. #22
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •