Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    256
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    What to do when Secunia PSI goes crazy?

    For several weeks now, booting the PC brings a pop-up saying ‘You have a program that requires a manual update’

    Details as follows:
    Microsoft Removal Tool:Blaster/Nachi v. 1.5.1.2600.5512 Product Discontinued. End of Life. Click to update.

    Updating a discontinued product seems pointless, but I have tried it a few times and get Malicious Software Removal Tool (KB890830). Once I even ran the 2 – 3 hour scan, which raises the question of whether one is supposed to do that every month – I’ve always assumed this tool was like all the other Patch Tuesday updates, to be installed and left to get on with it.

    Finding the continual pop-ups and the red Secunia icon irritating, I eventually deleted the exe. file manually from Windows/System 32 and run Secunia every week as usual, but it still insists the non-existent file needs to be removed.

    Do I just ignore the pop-ups until such time as Secunia sort themselves out, or do I need also to remove something from the registry?
    Windows XP SP3
    TIA
    Last edited by georgelee; 2012-10-21 at 15:17. Reason: Removed the extraneous rubbish at the beginning of each paragraph.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Don't let Secunia run at startup. Then the pop up will not be there. Run Secunia manually when you wish to.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You can just configure Secunia to ignore that program and you won't get any further notifications about it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    ... or delete the file AND its backup copy:

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    A similar question about the obsolete tool was asked in the XP forum here 10 days ago. Windows File Protection in XP SP3 replaces some files when deleted. But as the last post in this thread points out, you can probably find and delete the backup copy which will overcome the replacement: EOL Microsoft Windows Blaster Worm Removal Tool Uninstall
    Bruce

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    256
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks for all three suggestions.

    @ ruirib
    Seemed like the easiest solution, but PSI 3 doesn’t offer this choice in ‘settings’

    @ Bruce
    I spent quite a lot of time on this, without success. The only reference to Microsoft in ServicePackFiles/i386 was for a TrueType font, and the closest I could find in the 2500+ files in System 32 was dllhost.exe which I thought was best left alone.

    I notice that the instructions said to delete the backup before the actual file, so that may be the reason for not finding it.

    @ Ted
    I am undecided at the moment between your proposal and putting up with the popup. My concern is that removing Secunia at startup may mean missing updates as they become available, leading to the need for a lengthy scan every few days. I’ll probably give it a try.
    Last edited by georgelee; 2012-10-22 at 08:42. Reason: grammar

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    George, I do not miss Secunia at all. I got rid of it when V3 was released. These type apps are personal preference. I do use FileHippo.com on a manual basis. I prefer never letting anything run automatically like that, but that is my personal preference. I do everything manually from WU and all else. I am security conscious enough that I manually check things regularly. I do not like anything not necessary running at startup or in the background.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    georgelee (2012-10-22)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelee View Post
    Seemed like the easiest solution, but PSI 3 doesn’t offer this choice in ‘settings’
    Right click on the program, then "Ignore updates to this program".

    Bruce

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelee View Post

    @ ruirib
    Seemed like the easiest solution, but PSI 3 doesn’t offer this choice in ‘settings’
    Have you tried right clicking the problematic app?

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    georgelee (2012-10-22)

  11. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    256
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Right click on the program, then "Ignore updates to this program".

    Bruce
    That's brilliant!. Thanks a lot.

    George

  12. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    256
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    George, I do not miss Secunia at all. I got rid of it when V3 was released. These type apps are personal preference. I do use FileHippo.com on a manual basis. I prefer never letting anything run automatically like that, but that is my personal preference. I do everything manually from WU and all else. I am security conscious enough that I manually check things regularly. I do not like anything not necessary running at startup or in the background.
    That's given me something to consider. Would probably speed up start-up. Must look into FileHippo, as with three PCs to maintain I don't want to be everlastingly checking if everything is up to date.

    Thanks a lot

    George

  13. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    FileHippo.com will not catch everything, and does different things than Secunia, but it has done what I want it to do. The link for the update checker is in the upper right of the web page. FileHippo also likes to load itself in the Startup folder so I use What's In Startup to delete it from startup.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    georgelee (2012-10-23)

  15. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts

    v2 Secunia still available, no auto-update & no run on startup

    I agree that the new Secunia PSI v3 sucks. Fortunately, v2 is still available and works perfectly (I use it). If you are careful about specifying options during installation, as well as going to the options in the program GUI after you run it and immediately setting exactly what you want, the v2 program neither runs automatically on system startup nor installs any update to the programs it scans automatically.

    The v2 installer is available at the Secunia site here (better get it while the going is good!). Look for the link in the rightmost column under PSI 2.0 . If you have v3 installed, I would uninstall it first.

    This is just one more of innumerable examples of why one should always carefully file the last couple of installers for every program one uses (also OS upgrades & reinstallations consequently become massively easier, no need to surf to 200 webpages to find installers only to find that half the new versions suck !).

    I love Secunia v2.0 because it only lists programs with security issues, like most people with a lot of software as well as a life I have no interest whatever in having all my programs up to the latest versions, hence having to relearn redesigned GUI's and features umpty times, and copping usually at least one annoying new bug with every release. I'm used to the bugs my old programs have, if I get hungry for more features for a program that's when I check out the manufacturer's page, if I haven't updated it recently via Secunia.
    Last edited by bigbadsteve; 2012-10-25 at 08:34. Reason: minor edit

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to bigbadsteve For This Useful Post:

    jonrichco (2012-10-25)

  17. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What to do when Secunia PSI goes crazy?

    Hi,
    I got the same msg from Secunia. This is an old Microsoft tool that's either been installed with a monthly update or with Windows itself (I've found a copy on my SP2 installation CD) and has since been replaced by the "Microsoft Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool". There is a KB article about it, which also contains instructions for uninstalling it.
    HTH

  18. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    oh, forgot the link to the KB article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/833330/EN-US

  19. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    10546
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelee View Post
    Thanks for all three suggestions.

    @ ruirib
    Seemed like the easiest solution, but PSI 3 doesn’t offer this choice in ‘settings’
    Right click on the entry for the program and you'll see the ignore choice, as well as a way to get details such as where the program actually is.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •