Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    windows 8 wireless problem

    I just upgraded from windows 7 to windows 8 and now my desktop can't connect wireless. My laptop (which is still running windows 7) connects just as before. it's as if windows 8 on my desktop just can't find my router. I've trying running the troubleshooter but there's no solution. The messages I get also indicate that it just can't find the router. Any advice?

    Vince

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Is the wireless network found by Windows 8?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Is your wireless adapter found in device manager? Exactly what error messages do you get?

    Jerry

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwich, England
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Have you tried a utility such as MetaGeek's inSSIDer, which should list all the wireless networks in range?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Windows 8 doesn't find the wireless network
    It isn't in "device manager"
    I haven't tried that (or any utility) to locate available networks as I know the network is available as it has been upto the point that I installed windows 8 and my laptop finds it as it always has.
    When I try to open a browser an error message 651 appears "the modem has reported an error" and when I run the logging option it reports a number of errors - some of which ovbivously relate to other devices that normally connect wirelessly (e.g. my printer) for example:-
    under "remote access events log"
    error "hpc309.inf_x86_c8f9b23980817be3\hpc309.inf"
    error "wsdprint.inf_x86_24fcb0fac2cb53be\wsdprint.in f
    "can not enumerate key values. Tunnel"

    Also when I attempt to open the router I get the same error message. Hence I think windows 8 just doesn't recognise my router. Which is a bit of a pain and I think MS ought to publicise this as it's a bit of a waste of money if your computer's internet access is disabled by a new OS!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry - just double checked and there are 3 network adaptors in device manager.
    HP 802.11b/g wireless n/w adaptor
    intel (R) 82562V 10/100 n/w connections
    MS Kernel Debug n/w adaptor

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In properties the HP adaptor says it's not working properly (Code 10) but the others are OK. I've tried disabling the HP adaptor but that didn't work.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    That adapter is the cause for your problem, then. I would check HP documentation to precisely identify the adapter at stake and try to get the most up to date driver for it.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I agree. The HP wireless adapter is what you need to connect to the wireless router. The Intel adapter is the Ethernet card for connecting via a hard wired Ethernet cable. HP might have the correct drivers. You can try Win 7 drivers in compatibility mode.

    A Google search shows some possibilities.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwich, England
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Yep, that's the perpetrator nailed. Now you must discover where Carmen Sandiego is hiding.

    Chief out.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If I can't get a connection I can't download a driver!

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    And my computer tells me it's the most up to date driver.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Considering the info you provided, there are two options - your adapter has malfunctioned or the driver is causing the issues. Considering the adapter was working before the migration, I would say the latter is the most likely option.

    If you have no other way, you may need to get the driver through another computer. Since you seem to have a wired network adapter, connecting it to the router using an Ethernet cable is another option. You should take into consideration that since the laptop cannot access the internet, Windows can't really be trusted about you having the latest driver.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norwich, England
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Or, if possible, on a temporary basis connect the problem computer to the router with an Ethernet cable.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you are posting here then you can get to the internet. Download the driver to a flash drive, then move back to the other PC and use the flash driver to install the new driver.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •