Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts

    Tip for good/better boot times

    > Task Mgr > Startup (tab)

    Items show amount of 'stress' they exert @ boot up. Each can be Disabled/Enabled. Most, to all, do not need to be running @ startup. You can select what is or is not from all to none or any amount in between; obviously, there is the most impact from those that are rated High & or Medium. Tip here is, the fewer running @ Startup, the faster the Bootup time will be.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    edreyer1026 (2012-11-03)

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Drew,
    my Laptop's slow to start & use even with a good maintainance strategy.

    Untitled.jpg
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Would you care to please give me a little more to go on about your machine... brand, age, OS it's running, specs. At that point I would have a better chance of saying something worthwhile.

    Thanks,

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Drew,
    See my PC Specs above my sig.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Right, ok, thanks, have looked. I still have a # of questions, if you don't mind...

    How much free space is on the drive?
    What or which security is being used on the machine?
    What disc clean up method do you use?
    Do you regularly run CCleaner?
    Have you run sfc /scannow?
    What firewall is being used?
    Do you really feel all those items need to be running when it boots?
    Are there any programs that could be removed?
    Do you/have you run Malwarebytes?
    How old is it?
    Has the OS ever been re-installed? If so how many times?
    How recently, if ever, has chkdsk been run?

    Thanks

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    How much free space is on the drive?
    What or which security is being used on the machine?
    What disc clean up method do you use?
    Do you regularly run CCleaner?
    Yes, set to run every Saturday
    Have you run sfc /scannow?
    Yes
    What firewall is being used?
    Do you really feel all those items need to be running when it boots?
    Yes
    Are there any programs that could be removed?
    ????
    Do you/have you run Malwarebytes?
    Portable version.
    How old is it?
    How old is what
    Has the OS ever been re-installed? If so how many times?
    Yes, not so long ago.
    How recently, if ever, has chkdsk been run?
    Not so long ago.

    Thanks

    Cheers,
    Drew
    All programs & pc fully up to date. Drew.zip
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Rod (is it?),

    I meant how old is the laptop but, can't be more than 3 yrs since it's running 7. Why was the OS re-installed. I see you are using a 3rd Party firewall & Avast. Not familiar w/ the firewall but, Avast is good. Personally, would prefer MSE & the Windows Firewall. Really, doesn't appear to be much, @ all, installed in it; nothing really anything superfluous or 'scary'. 1 thing confusing me a bit is the specs say 250Gb HDD but, your picture of the drive shows something quite different (???). The logs you showed me, the boot times are terrible; prolly helped by (all) the stuff running @ startup. Are the shutdowns done by you or "unexpected"? I take it the Windows Firewall is OFF? Is the Avast firewall OFF, too? If, that Avast has one (??).

    "my Laptop's slow to start & use even with a good maintenance strategy."
    Was it always slow? Please, comment on its spd before & after the recent rebuild

    Has a decent amt of RAM. Speed may be partially or somewhat limited by the CPU.

    I don't get why (you say) some of that stuff can't be started when needed or, @ least, after it's finished booting (??).

    The desktop running off the same modem? The desktop's spd is good, though, right? The laptop wireless or hardwired? A router?

    Do you get the same 'errors', as what you showed me, in the logs a lot?


    Thanks for all the answers & info in the zip.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2012-10-29 at 07:00.

  9. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Drew,
    I am in the process of upgrading my FW. Will try answering your q's later. Read this for now. Outpost Quick Guide.docx
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    RR, Your specs indicate 2 gigs of memory, an extra gig might help. Your startup items are fine and shouldn't cause a problem except maybe your firewall Outpost. I don't run a software firewall and don't know what its impact may be on slower systems like your laptop. You might want to temporarily disable it as a test.

    You also might want to run a temperature monitoring system to insure you aren't overheating. Some laptops will slow down if it gets too warm.

    Is it just boot that is slow or does it also run slow afterwards? If your running speed is OK, I wouldn't worry about the slow boot and maybe just hibernate rather than shut down.

    Jerry

  11. #10
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Jerry, yes, his laptop does run slowly, as well as have long bootup times. The 3rd party FW bothers me, too. MSE & the native Windows FW might well be a better idea. Wasn't so long ago 2Gs RAM was thought to be a lot...my how things have changed in recent times, eh? His laptop CPU is not all that robust and sometimes adding RAM to some laptops isn't exactly a walk in the park. In keeping w/ your thought regarding temperature, http://alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

    The problem may, also, be malware or conflicts regarding firewalls. Tough sometimes when one can't, actually, be 'hands on".

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2012-10-29 at 14:03.

  12. #11
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Ian, for some reason (??) the doc you gave me does not open for me. Clicking on it does nothing, strange but, true.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 33067

  13. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    Rod (is it?),

    I meant how old is the laptop but, can't be more than 3 yrs since it's running 7. Why was the OS re-installed. I see you are using a 3rd Party firewall & Avast. Not familiar w/ the firewall but, Avast is good. Personally, would prefer MSE & the Windows Firewall. Really, doesn't appear to be much, @ all, installed in it; nothing really anything superfluous or 'scary'. 1 thing confusing me a bit is the specs say 250Gb HDD but, your picture of the drive shows something quite different (???). The logs you showed me, the boot times are terrible; prolly helped by (all) the stuff running @ startup. Are the shutdowns done by you or "unexpected"? I take it the Windows Firewall is OFF? Is the Avast firewall OFF, too? If, that Avast has one (??).

    "my Laptop's slow to start & use even with a good maintenance strategy."
    Was it always slow? Please, comment on its spd before & after the recent rebuild

    Has a decent amt of RAM. Speed may be partially or somewhat limited by the CPU.

    I don't get why (you say) some of that stuff can't be started when needed or, @ least, after it's finished booting (??).

    The desktop running off the same modem? The desktop's spd is good, though, right? The laptop wireless or hardwired? A router?

    Do you get the same 'errors', as what you showed me, in the logs a lot?


    Thanks for all the answers & info in the zip.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    My Laptop is realatively new.
    -
    Why was the OS re-installed.
    I keep experimenting with different settings.
    -
    Windows FW lets everything out, Outpost doesn't.
    -
    I have tried MSE, it's c***.
    -
    Logs show different errors
    -
    Avast Free AV.
    -
    Laptop used wirelessly only, Netgear DGN2000 router.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  14. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,158
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Drew, hello. >>> the doc you gave me does not open for me <<<

    It opened for me, I run Office 2010, it is a docx, but you knew. JP.

  15. #14
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    AFAIK, their is no malware on my PC. or conflicts between AV & FW.

    RR.JPG
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  16. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Did you test disabling Outpost to see if it made any difference? Perhaps they haven't had a Windows 8 update.

    I understand your concern about outgoing transmissions but I'm a security minimalist myself. Just an AV, the Windows firewall, and my router's hardware firewall. No WOT, software firewalls, or email scanners. With that and some Internet common sense and I've never had an infection. The more stuff you have running, the greater chance of slowdowns and conflicts. My 2 gig hz laptop flies with Windows 8.

    Jerry

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •