Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts

    Exclamation Downloading Win8 for correct bit-set

    FYI:

    IF, you are putting Win8 Upgrade on a 32-bit machine, download the Upgrade w/ that machine or another x86 machine.

    IF, you are putting it on a 64-bit machine use that machine or another x64 machine to DL.

    I'm sure you see the point/message here. IF, you DL it on a 64-bit machine & then, go to install on a x86 machine you will receive a compatibility error.

    And, certainly, you are not going, even consider bothering to put a 32-bit OS on a 64-bit machine.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2012-10-29 at 02:14.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    MS again thinks everyone needs help deciding what version we need based on what's already on our PC, i.e. if we have a 32 Bit OS already installs, the tool chooses a 32 Bit download. For most people this is most likely a good thing. For those more experienced users that wish to change their bitness of the installed OS, this is not what they wish.

    From the Upgrade Assistant Tool page:

    Can you Upgrade from 32 Bit OS to 64 Bit Win 8:
    Yes, but you can't do this using Upgrade Assistant. If your PC has a 64-bit capable processor (CPU) but is currently running a 32-bit version of Windows, you can install a 64-bit version of Windows 8, but you'll need to buy Windows 8 as a DVD.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Ted,

    Let's qualify things just a tad... One, of course, can only change an OS on a machine from x86 to x64, via clean install (even w/ a 64-bit Win8 Upgrade), only IF the machine itself is 64-bit hardware, x64 compatible. Usually the OS is x86 because that's what the machine supports. Can't imagine why anyone would put a 32-bit OS in a 64-bit capable box, being that x64 is the preferred. I know in all this I'm stating the obvious but, I'm often told or reminded, the same things are not obvious to all people.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,959
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    Can't imagine why anyone would put a 32-bit OS in a 64-bit capable box, being that x64 is the preferred. I know in all this I'm stating the obvious but, I'm often told or reminded, the same things are not obvious to all people.
    You should not presume anything about the way people choose to handle their computers. I wouldn't use x64 if a computer had less than 4 GB memory, regardless of its capability to run x64. What would be the point?
    Also, 7 was really the only x64 version that had "universal" hardware support. Things were much worse even in Vista, hardware support wise. This considered, there could be plenty of reasons for people to run x86 on x64 capable hardware. People run their computers according to their perception of what's best for them and you should realize that without making such a blanket statement.

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Well, yes, of course, you'd run a 64 w/ @ least 4Gs RAM. I wasn't, really, presuming anything about people. Just about Operating Systems & that, @ least, recently 64 is preferred & so would go w/ that when possible. I was more talking about H/W & S/W, than people.

    But, thanks for putting me in my place. How terribly thoughtless I was. Been @ this all night. 6 AM now so I'll bid you good night.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    There are also some that wish to switch to 32 Bit for legacy app support that will not work on Win 8 64 Bit, but may on 32 Bit.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,959
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    There are also some that wish to switch to 32 Bit for legacy app support that will not work on Win 8 64 Bit, but may on 32 Bit.
    Of course, Ted. Reality is much more complex than we could be led to believe, as life really teaches all of us that are willing to learn from it..

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,469
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 500 Times in 450 Posts
    I also had a scanner without any 64 bit drivers in Windows 7 so I installed the 32 bit version on my desktop. It runs fast and I don't miss the extra 32 bits.

    I could always install the 32 bit version again if I want 64 bits

    Jerry

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,064
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    Ya, I prefer 32 bit if I can get away with it for compatibility reasons and I've found over time (three years) that the 64-bit systems of mine don't quite hold up as well. The difference is miniscule, just a few nigglers but one or two I just can't figure out, like loss of access to shares by an XP client after a while and the only recourse seems to be a reboot of the 64bit system. Also programs that interact more deeply with the OS are problematic, like Returnil; same thing, system takes longer and longer to respond when in virtual mode and only comes back after a restart. I know that's because of the hardened kernel, which is good but, doesn't make it easier to use.

    The best way I can say it is that 64-bit takes a bit more care and management to keep it in tip top shape, if for no other reason that it won't let you do some things for security's sake, which as I said is good and bad. Impossible to beat it for VM performance though, so I put up with it.

  11. #10
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Most x86 things will run on 64, as opposed to the other way around. The rational behind my recommending x64 to clients for a long time is let's call it 'forward thinking'. x64 is arguably superior technology to x86 and 'the future'; it won't be long before 32-bit is nothing more than taillights & dust. And going forward most H/W is x64 capable ergo, it seems wise & fitting to let it use (modern) x64 S/W. If, anyone thinks they should stay w/ x86, of course they are free to do so. There is XP Mode for those having to, still, run old S/W but, that's another story, all together. I have run x64 for a long time & given it to clients in new machines for a long time, throughout w/ no regrets, extra struggles or concerns, snags or issues. Maybe none of that means anything nor am I telling anyone what they must do, only advocating what is, possibly, wise & timely.

    Example... I have a mate in Edmonton who had x86 Vista on a 64-bit machine. He is, now, excited that he will be putting x64 Windows 8 on it saying, "I would (now) prefer 64."

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2012-10-29 at 13:42.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,064
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    Ya, there's no problem going to x64, especially if all ties to the past have been cut, when all my legacy equipment croaks and XP is dodo-bird, and I expect these last few problems, which may in large part be related to maintaining 32-bit compatibility, are ironed out, then I would be in the same position, x64 is more forward thinking just because it has more capacity for RAM utilization...and someday more than a few, if they stick with desktop systems, might even need it!
    But seriously, if its going to become a predominantly x64 world because one knows they'll get the drivers for x64 and its only maybe for x86, then that's another good reason, like it was 8 years ago, except the opposite.

    I think all other considerations are mumbo jumbo for the most part, all things equal, it's not faster, x64 software is not superior, etc. etc...anyone who knows how information is processed/produced in a computer knows that.
    Last edited by F.U.N. downtown; 2012-10-29 at 14:06.

  13. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I was speaking more about some 16 Bit apps that seem to work fine on Win 8 32 Bit, but not on 64 Bit. There are still a few of those floating around that many people seem to enjoy sticking with.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. #13
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    OMG, Ted, sorry, 16 had never crossed my mind, @ all. I know we are 'older' but, geeesh, my mind just hadn't cast back that far or rare. LOL

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    There are many holdovers from the 16 Bit era. Many are games, etc. I know DrWho mentioned he was able to run a 16 Bit game using the 32 Bit version of Win 8 RP.

    There are a lot of these "old timers" and some will be upgrading their equipment or OS. This is just one option for them.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #15
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 92 Times in 71 Posts
    Cool, ted. I just be an 'old timer' who doesn't/hasn't used much old(er) stuff. No worries. I'm going to watch the V8 Supercars race from Australia I recorded last night. That & F1 are great fun in my books.

    Even my roomie surprised me... he's not very puter savvy, yet, when I told him the only thing not compatible when he moves from XP to Windows 8 is his Flight Sim game said, "Oh, well, there's likely a new version, now, that is. That Flight Sim I have is, really, old."

    Cheers,
    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •