Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger attaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do I checkdisk and repair?

    On my xp I was able to check the disk and click an option to repair any bad segments. I've lost the command I used to use. Now I want to chkdsk Win 7
    I thought it was chkdsk/r, but that command didn't offer me the option to repair any bad segments.I think it might have been chkdsk/f/r, but when I tried that there were no actions matching my search.

    I'm wondering if the command in Win7 is different from XP and can someone give me the proper command to check the disk and repair bad segments, OR is this available on Win7?
    Thank you for any help you can give.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    chkdsk /r (notice the blank space between the k and /) Also leave a blank space between the /f and /r commands. You do not need both /r and /f because I believe the /r does it all.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger attaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    chkdsk /r (notice the blank space between the k and /) Also leave a blank space between the /f and /r commands. You do not need both /r and /f because I believe the /r does it all.
    Thanks, Medico. I entered the command with the blank spaces you specified. The task will be performed the next time I start up.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad I could help.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    As a matter of interest, is there any difference between using chkdsk in this way, and selecting Error-checking in the Tools tab for each drive?

    Chris

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quite frankly I have no idea. Perhaps someone else can answer that one.

    In looking at the Tools tab, it does appear similar, but I do not know if this is the same.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I beleive the Tools Error Checking does chkdsk /f. performing chkdsk from an elevated command prompt allows you to use any of the other optional flags including /r. type chkdsk /? to get a complete list of optional flags.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    New Lounger attaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you all. My OS seems much happier since the cnkdsk /r

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It's nice when things work as expected.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •