Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 7 32 bit update to SP1 (KB976932) will not complete configuring "Failed

    Have an HP-Mini 110-1100 with Windows 7 Pro, 32 bit installed. Windows update SP1 (KB976932) installs successfully, but stops at about 11% while configuring, reboots, then try's to configure part 2 of 2 and stops at about 9%, gives indication "Failure configuring Service Pack, Reverting Changes, and then re-boots. When finished rebooting I get message "Installation was not successful (unknown error). Have tried this many times.
    I ran Windows Standalone (KB947821) and CheckSUR log indicated "no errors detected". CheckSURpesist log indicated "no errors detected". Ran troubleshooting in Win 7, indicates it repaired something in "default update location", but it usually say's that, so not much hope with that. Also tried installing with MSE disabled. No luck.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,614
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 525 Times in 474 Posts
    Run Malwarebytes to insure you don't have malware.
    Uninstall all instances of .net Framework
    Disable all security software
    Try installing SP 1 again

    Jerry

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Pretty sure it is not malware, but will run what you suggested. I did disable microsoft security essentials, but did nothing with the .net Framework. I will try all of these as suggested. Thanks for the help.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ran Malwarebytes: No malware detected
    Uninstalled .NET Framework 4
    Disabled MSE antivirus software
    Rebooted and ran SP1 update again.
    Same problem: Installation was not successful, Element not found. Details: Error_Not_Found (0x80070490)
    Ran Windows Standalone again. CheckSUR=no errors detected., CheckSURpersist=no errors detected.
    Opened CBS file, but it is a huge text file and nothing seemed flaged, but not sure how to read this file as it is so detailed.

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Do you have IE 9 installed? I think I read that IE 9 must be installed after SP1. If this is your case try rolling back to IE 8 first (Programs and Features, Installed updates) Select IE 9 from the list and choose Uninstall. Once IE 9 is uninstalled IE 8 will be put back automatically. Then try the SP1 update.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    Did you run sfc /scannow?

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,614
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 525 Times in 474 Posts
    If he had a CBS log, he ran SFC /scannow.

    You might want to do another SFC /scannow from an elevated command prompt to get a fresh cbslog file.
    To find the relevant entries in the cbs log, open it in a word processor and search for all instances of [SR].

    Jerry

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the information. I will first try to open the CBS log with a word processor. I only opened it before as a text file. If I can't find anything, it will be worth trying to uninstall IE9 and trying again.

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I uninstalled IE9
    Checked IE8 for proper operation
    disabled antivirus program
    rebooted
    ran and installed SP1
    Had same problem during SP1 configuration: Part 1 of 2 reboots at about 11% completion. Part 2 of 2 posts failure and reverting changes then reboots. After boot up, flag says installation not successful (unknown error).
    Have been trying to look at CBS file, but with notebook there are about 1800 pages and with Word about 2500 pages. Scrolling through everything looks about the same.
    I have even downloaded the SP1 file and tried manually running it as an Administrator. Does the same except the process takes a lot longer than with Windows Update.

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I ran SFC/scannow this morning. The response was "no integrity violations"

  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,172
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    A few months ago I found myself in a similar situation. I put off installing SP1 for a while, until other software couldn't be installed either. I then just did a repair install, which kept all my programs and fixed everything and SP1 installed fine, at last. You may want to consider it: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...r-install.html

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well it looks like I might just have to do that. Persistant problem but everything checks fine.
    I only installed Windows 7 about 2 weeks ago. This is my wife's PC and it had Windows XP but it also had instant web. Instant Web allows you to boot up without windows and check email and other things. Then you can click on the Windows logo and windows will load. Well I ran disk clean up and then could not even find the hard drive. The XP disk did not have a SATA driver and I didn't want to go to all the trouble to slip stream one, so I loaded Windows 7, which runs just fine. She never used instant web anyway, so I did not even try to get that to work. Everything going along well until the SP1 update.
    My Windows 7 version is one of the early ones, so it does not have SP1. I see in the link there is directions how to use this and it is the same disk that I installed, so it should work just fine.
    Thanks for you help.

  14. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    If no luck with repair install you can download an ISO of win 7 32bit from Microsoft downloads (I think). This will have SP1 on the disk. You could the re-install windows using the disk you burnt the ISO to and have a clean install with SP1 installed. Of course this will mean re-installing all your programs and stuff and getting all the updates from update center. This is the last resort I know but may be the only way.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bear Creek, NC, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    SP1 Installed. I took your advice and just formated drive C and reinstalled Windows 7 using the custom format so it would not look for any previous versions and just install by itself. While going through the updates I was careful not to install anything with a .Net Framework and put off installing IE9 for now. When SP1 came available, I disabled MSE antivirus and went for it. Everything went perfect without a problem.
    I want to thank all who gave me some excellent advice. After all it is always a learning trip.
    Thanks again.

  16. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Glad you finally succeeded. There was something corrupted the Custom Install fixed. You should now be safe installing IE 9 as well. I believe IE 10 will be made available for Win 7 shortly as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •