Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: metro app

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottsdale Arizona USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    metro app

    I keep reading metro app, what is it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Click on the "Store" tile on the Start Screen. At this point, they aren't very extensive, but they do run in the Start Screen, rather than porting you to the Desktop.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottsdale Arizona USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't see how I can close an app that I started from the start screen. I occupies the whole screen and all I can do is hit the windows button. It appears that the app stays open, as per alt-tab.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Grab the top of the app and pull it to the bottom of the screen. This is one method.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VikAZ View Post
    I don't see how I can close an app that I started from the start screen. I occupies the whole screen and all I can do is hit the windows button. It appears that the app stays open, as per alt-tab.

    To close an open app on the Start Screen, if you're using a mouse, slide it to the top left corner, and an thumbnail of all open apps will appear. slide the pointer to the app you want to close, and right-click. A "Close" box will pop up; left-click "Close", and that's it.

    If you're using a touch screen, it's probably something similar in the top left corner, but I wouldn't know which gestures you should employ.

    Addendum:

    I just discovered this (and several people have probably already covered it, but I haven't read it if so). If you have an open app tucking itself into the top left corner, and left-click on it, it appears to slide back into place on the Start Screen. Many apps on the start screen have live content. The app I had up there was News.

    After left-clicking on it and having it return to its previous position on the Start Screen, I slid my mouse down to the bottom left corner to go back to the Desktop (which I've been doing since Friday) but the desktop wasn't there - the News app was there.

    So I right-clicked on the News app, and a menu popped up. It consists of

    Programs and Features
    Mobility Center
    Power Options
    Event Viewer
    System
    Device Manager
    Disk Management
    Computer Management
    Command Prompt
    Command Prompt (Admin)
    ----------------------------
    Task Manager
    Control Panel
    File Explorer
    Search
    Run
    ----------------------------
    Desktop

    Interesting...
    Last edited by bbearren; 2012-11-01 at 19:08. Reason: update
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    These both work. This shows that there is always more than one way to accomplish anything on Win 8.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Yes, should be one more though, plenty of real estate for the hand and a red X.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •