Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No Internet after Win8 upgrade

    I installed Win8 Pro upgrade on a 2-3 year-old Sony Vaio laptop running Win7-64bit. The upgrade was uneventful and everything seems to work except that I cannot connect to the Internet anymore. My home wireless network continues to work on other PCs. The Win8 PC sees the SSID of my wireless network, says the signal strength is good, and appears to connect to it OK. But it says I have no Internet. I have tried all the troubleshooting, diagnostic, and repair options that I could find. They say the adapter is OK, but cannot find DNS server. When I connect via an Ethernet cable, same result -- no Internet. Device Manager says there are no problems with the adapters. When I try to connect to the router via address 192.168.1.1, it fails to connect, but this works on other PCs. I'm sure it is something obvious, but what am I doing wrong?
    Last edited by Pseudonym; 2012-11-02 at 13:41. Reason: typo

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried to run the Network T/S'er? Right Click on the Network icon and choose Troubleshoot Problems.

    Is the switch on the front in the on position? This sounds simple, but I have accidently turned my switch off on my Sony Vaio in the past. I would also try to reboot your Modem and Router then run the T/S'er.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, Medico, but I have tried all of that. When I turn off the wireless switch, I lose the network connection. When I turn it on, it immediately connects to my wireless network, but says I have no Internet access. One troubleshooting message says that the firewall may be blocking access to the Internet, but I have turned off Windows firewall.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I thought you were unable to connect to the router (Network).

    Is the Workgroup name and password the same on all PC's?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I thought you were unable to connect to the router (Network).

    Is the Workgroup name and password the same on all PC's?
    The Win8 PC sees the wireless network's SSID and connects to it with good signal strength (as reported by Network and Sharing Center), but "Access type" is given as "No Internet access". Two other PCs in the house can wirelessly access the Internet just fine. On those systems going to address 192.168.1.1 from the browser brings up the wireless router's setup screen. That does not happen on the Win8 PC. No IP address or web address connects to the Internet on that PC.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Have you used one of the other PCs to check the router configuration?

    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Have you used one of the other PCs to check the router configuration?

    Joe
    What should I check for specifically?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    What do you get when you run IPconfig from a command prompt on the Windows 8 computer?

    If you can get into the router from another computer, double check the wireless settings including MAC Address filtering and the Wireless security settings
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    MAC address filtering was my next guess as well. OP would have had to set this up though
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    What do you get when you run IPconfig from a command prompt on the Windows 8 computer?

    If you can get into the router from another computer, double check the wireless settings including MAC Address filtering and the Wireless security settings
    Jerry
    On the router: MAC filtering is OFF; wireless security is WPA-PSK, TKIP.
    On the Win8 PC: security is WPA-Personal, encription TKIP and security key is the same as on the router.
    IP Config on the Win8 PC: Shows one connected wireless LAN adapter ("Wi-Fi 2") with DNS suffix hsd1.co.comcast.net and gives an IPv6 and IPv4 address and subnet mask and default gateway of 192.168.1.1.

    The IPv4 address is 192.168.1.107. A working PC has IP of 192.168.1.104. The router DHCP server starts at 192.168.1.100 and allows 50 DHCP users.

    On the Win8 PC, "Wi-Fi 2" status says IPv4 connectivity: No Internet Access; Media State: enabled; SSID: [correct name]; Speed and signal quality look good. The Acivity diagram shows that several thousand bytes have both been sent and received.

    Do you see anything strange there?

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    What value do you have for DNS server for the wireless adapter?

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pseudonym View Post
    When I connect via an Ethernet cable, same result -- no Internet.
    That would seem to eliminate any aspect of the wireless connection as your problem.

    Device Manager says there are no problems with the adapters. When I try to connect to the router via address 192.168.1.1, it fails to connect, but this works on other PCs.
    That would seem to eliminate DNS as the problem.

    I'm sure it is something obvious, but what am I doing wrong?
    Have you fiddled around with things like the public vs. private vs. work network types? Seems like it must be SOMETHING in Network & Sharing that's set strangely (possibly a setting inherited from your Win 7 system?) - unless you're using IE and something is set strangely there (but I wouldn't think that an IE setting would reach down to affect lower-level statuses).
    Last edited by - bill; 2012-11-02 at 15:48.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Do you have Airplane mode set by any chance? Double click on the wireless icon in the system tray to check.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    What value do you have for DNS server for the wireless adapter?
    On the Win8 PC (Network Connection Details):
    DNS Servers: 75.75.76.76 and 75.75.75.75
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
    On the router (Linksys WRT54GS):
    DNS Servers: (same as above)
    Default Gateway: 76.25.216.1
    Local IP address: 192.168.1.1
    IP address: 75.25.223.83

    By the way, one of the laptops that is working fine was previously upgraded from Win7 to one of the pre-release versions of Win8. It is using the same wireless network and connects to the Internet just fine.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Do you have Airplane mode set by any chance? Double click on the wireless icon in the system tray to check.

    Jerry
    Airplane mode is OFF. When I switch in ON then OFF again, the network connection disappears and then reconnects.

    Another thought, does Win8 have anything like a hosts file that could be redirecting IP addresses?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •