Thanks

Is Windows 8 better technically ?

I have now read many articles coming to terms with Windows 8 and its new - er - desktop, but no articles about the usual reasons for new operating systems - ie: that they are better in some technical sense, or offer better security. Can anyone direct me (and possibly other non geeks) to some site where this aspect of Windows 8 might be described and explained ?

NB : I did use the Lounge's search facility, but it didn't seem come up with any answers, so maybe I'm not very good at searches either
    Septuagent

Thanks
    Just read down through many of the threads in this Forum. Win 8 handles memory management much better so it's lighter on system resources. There are many other reasons that are too numerous to mention here and have been discussed in detail throughout the Win 8 Forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Thanks
    Although it's looks may take some time getting used to, it's stability (as far as I'm concerned) does not.
    It certainly appears to be a very stable operating system in the time I've been working and running it.

+
    Windows 8 will utilize your GPU's processor much more effectively, as well as memory, than any previous Windows OS.
    Windows 8 will be the most secure Windows OS, on par with Linux in many aspects, minus the supposed learning curve.
    The differences and "higher learning curve" between Windows 7 & 8 touted by many in the opinion tech writing industry
    is grossly blown out of proportion. If you've been working with Windows for many years, Windows 8 WILL NOT be as radical
    a departure as you might be led to think.
    The start screen is not the annoyance you may have been led to believe, as these aspects can easily be mitigated.