Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win8 computer will not network with Win7 computer

    After one hour with MS help today, I have been unable to get my Win8 computer to network with my Win7 computer. The MS "helper" was completely useless. He repeated the same things many times, getting the same results (failure) each time, so I gave up, not wanting to do another 5h 40m marathon. Maybe someone here will have a good suggestion.

    Both computers are able to see the name of the other computer, but cannot connect. Both are wired to a router that also has my Linux machine. The Linux machine can find and communicate with the Win7 machine. Before installing Win8, the computer that now has it was able to easily exchange files with the older Win7 machine.

    After finding the Win7 machine, my Win8 machine says it "cannot access" it. I get this error:
    0x80070035
    I also get the message "the remote device won't accept the connections."
    I tried "set up a network." It says it may take 90 seconds to find and list something (probably the existing network as defined on the Win7 machine). At that point nothing happens. Not in 90 seconds or 30 minutes.
    I tried the "troubleshoot" feature. It doesn't find anything or report anything.
    I tried various online tutorials, but they led me to make selections that do not exist on my screen.
    When I go to the Metro screen and type in "homegroup" it finds nothing! I thought that term was a MS term and that it was supposed to be a real feature.
    The control panel finds homegroup. I select "join now" and enter the password. Then Windows 8 says "Windows no longer detects a homegroup on this network." It tells me to click OK, then open homegroup in the control panel. That option does not appear when I click OK.

    I also searched here for networking discussions, but none seemed to address the problems I have experienced.
    Any suggestions?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,312
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 225 Times in 179 Posts
    I don't use Homegroup, I use regular networking. I have sharing enabled on several partitions on my desktop, and I use the same username and password on my laptop as one of the user accounts on the desktop. My laptop is running Windows 8 and my desktop is running Windows 7.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I have been using Homegroup. First make sure the Homegroup password is the same for both (CP, Homegroup, View or print password)

    Then on each PC, go through Advanced Sharing and set it up. I then had to go into each PC, right click on the C Drive and set up sharing there. I took a further step and went to the Users folders and did the same thing there.

    I my switch to regular networking, but for now Homegroup is working for me. I have 2 laptops with Win 8 Pro and a Desktop with Win 7 HP and all are networked.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,061
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    I did nothing to my install except change the network sharing settings; file discovery on, user accounts instead of homegroup (leave your's be if using homegroup) and no password required. This got me into the public folder which is shared by default, usernames could not be more different so that's no issue, I suspect the same with password though I use the same one for convenience. Even my workgroup names are different, still no problem.

    So, first thing I would think if those basic settings are in effect is any and all possible security programs or firewalls that might be blocking networking. I'm about 80% successful at troubleshooting over the phone where networking is installed, I ask if they have Norton or McAfee or Zone Alarm or trusted platform installed, if yes, I say uninstall that (sometimes requiring the appropriate removal tool), and it works.

    If there's nothing at all router or computer based security whatsoever, then we might need a list of things already tried with MS, for instance it sounds like you are using homegroup, well, was one of the troubleshooting actions to take the computer out of homegroup and use user accounts and/or trying a homegroup refresh? Is IPv6 enabled? Etc., etc. With that much time on the phone there must have been a pretty extensive list of troubleshooting items covered.

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So far, no luck with it. Win8 does not offer "view or print PW." I tried working from the Win7 end. It offers the "view or print" but does not respond to the right click; to change PW it says "windows cannot setup a homegroup on this computer." To setup a new network, it gives the "up to 90 seconds" thing, then does nothing, even after 5 or more minutes.

    I think I need to troubleshoot the firewalls, as FUN suggested. I have Comodo on the Win7 machine and can turn it off. I am using the built-in one on Win8 and will see if I can figure out a way to turn it off. The strange thing is that the networking worked fine before I installed Win8, but before that I was using Comodo firewall on both computers.

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    It is possible then that the Homegroup is not enabled in Win 8. Since Win 7 has a Homegroup already set up, click on Join a Homegroup in Win 8 and enter the password from Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Medico - I tried that right off, and the MS person tried it about 8 times. ;-) What happens is that when the password is entered, Windows says "Windows no longer detects a homegroup on this network." It finds the other computer by name and offers to let me join the homegroup. I would be happy to not use homegroup and use the old XP kind of network, but something is simply not working. There is a link that says "View your basic network, etc." but that link doesn't do anything. When I try to setup a new network, Win8 will not proceed past the "this might take up to 90 seconds" message.

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,061
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    When I went to my Homegroup on Win7 it indicated that my Virtual Win 8 had created its own homegroup already. If you haven't removed the Win 7 computer from its own homegroup, I would try that, reboot and go back to the homegroup and see if you get any similar network messages about homegroup, or see if at that point if you can make normal networking work without any homegroups.

    If you are getting out to the Internet from both systems through the same router, no need to set up any new network, its already there, just not working properly for whatever reason.

  10. #9
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 132 Times in 113 Posts
    It's difficult to help in detail because we don't know specifically what Microsoft looked at.

    So, my approach is to go back to basics. Can you ping the Windows 7 PC from the Windows 8 machine by IP address and by name? What IP addresses do the Win 7 and Win 8 box use...are they on the same subnet? Is NetBIOS enabled on the Win8 box?

    All those are designed to establish if the Win8 box can actually see the Win 7 box even before you attempt to network them.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  11. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As of the last time I tried, Win8 is now able to read some of the folders on my Win7 machine. My 1 hour session with MS help did nothing. Today I spent 4 hours with a guy who was connected to both of my computers. Yes, that is not a typo, 4 HOURS. Anyway, he did so many things that I am unable to explain what worked or to tell you whether there are or are not remaining problems. I will have to spend some time testing it. Both OS'es seemed to want to block every effort to make them connect. It seems to me that the approach, even at worst case, should have been to remove all networks and to simply install new ones. The existing networks, however, were not willing to go quietly. My next job is to see if I can get my Ubuntu computer to connect to the two Windows computers. This all worked well before I installed Win8.

  12. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Silver Springs, Nevada USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do have the same issue. I upgraded my laptop from Win 7 to Win 8 Pro without a problem. My desktop runs Windows 7 Home Premium and has a homegroup. I am on cable that runs into the cable modem and from the modem to a Belkin router (new). So, the laptop is connected by WiFi. When I open the Network and Sharing Center in Win 8, I find my WiFi connection as Private Network and Homegroup: Available to join. Trying to join the homegroup ends up in the message: Windows no longer detects a homegroup on this network. I checked the Internet (Google) with various queries with no real result for a solution. It seems that quite a lot of users have this issue, but even Microsoft cannot come up with a real solution. I linked to various MS sites with suggestions, but they do not work either.

    I must mention that I can access my shared folders in the desktop PC and vicaversus, but I want a solution to the issue by Microsoft.

    This is one of typical Issues where MS seems totally uninterested or unable to provide a clear and simple solution to the issue. It cannot be so difficult for them to help. Maybe, it is just one simple (hidden) setting that is causing the issue. If there is a solution to it, it should be published in the Windows Secrets Newsletter in an article by Fred Langa perhaps. I am looking forward to that. I am a 10 year subscriber to the Langa Letter which joined the Windows Secrets Newsletter.

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,128
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Robert W, hello. " I also searched here for networking discussions, but none seemed to address the problems I have experienced.
    Any suggestions? "
    My suggestion is AP based. Both machines have to be "allowed" on the AP if you have set up MAC address filtering. If not let us know and we will look further for you, there are persons here quite a bit more knowledgeable than your first contact on MS. JP.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,467
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 499 Times in 449 Posts
    Also, make sure any third party firewalls are disabled.

    Jerry

  15. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Silver Springs, Nevada USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After more research, I could not find a solution at all. All MS recommendations which possibly could apply to the issue would not work at all or would not describe the issue accurately. I then did the following: I left the homegroup on my desktop PC (W 7), and then created a new homegroup on the laptop (W 8). This works fine and both pcs are now in the homegroup which also shows up in Windows Explorer resp. File Explorer (W 8).

    However, I still believe that there is a better solution to the issue resp. it should work from the beginning to join a homegroup when it offers it: "Join available", and not then say the homegroup is not available when it is.

  16. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    It is possible that Win 8 PC could not connect with the Win 7 Homegroup, but when you set a Homegroup up Win 8, then the connection worked. I have since moved to Workgroup which worked well for all 3 PCs, 2 with Win 8 and a desktop with Win 7. I set the Homegroup up with my Win 8 laptop, then added my wife's laptop to that Homegroup, then added the Win 7 Desktop to the Homegroup and all worked very well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •