Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Suggestions of email client for a Win XP Outlook Express user going to Win7

Hi lounge members,

As the title may suggest, I am an Windows XP user who uses Outlook Express now; But also getting a new Win 7 desktop in the next week or so. I know the newsletter has given directions on how to install OE for Windows 7 users but while that may temporarily be the answer I am looking for something that might be longer term and maybe more up to date. As for what I like about OE - interms of what I might be lookingfor in terms of an email client replacement, I like that you can have unlimited message delivery rules, and that each email folder is stored as seperate files on the hard rive, not all together as in Outlook or as seperate emails like Windows Live Mail. I am a computer programmer and fairly knowledgeable about software programs, so please bear that in mid when giving suggestions.

Charles

Thanks
    Try Thunderbird mail.

Most people use that as a replacement for OE.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I will look into Thunderbird.

I can't seem to find the article about if and how it's possible to run OE under Win7.

Thanks

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    I thought that Fred did an article about using OE in Win7? I just can't seem to find it...

Thanks
    Windows Live Mail is the most similar client to the old OE, and it's successor.
    If your purchasing Office, you might also consider Outlook.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,