Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Getting AHCI on a shuttle small factor PC.

    Hi All
    I don't know if this is the correct place for this so please move it if not.
    My brother in law has a shuttle small factor PC which works very well for his needs. i have upgraded the hard drive to an SSD and is working fine.
    The only problem when I use SSD Tweaker to check the SSD it says Trim is not active. And also that AHCI cannot be found.
    His OS is windows 7 Home 32bit.
    My question is what do I update, the Bios or the Intel chip set to get Trim operating?
    I can find no reference to AHCI in the Bios at all. (or even a choice of IDE or AHCI)
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2012-11-20 at 07:22.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,402
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 488 Times in 449 Posts
    If it's an older motherboard you won't find AHCI in the BIOS.
    You can post the make and model of your motherboard and we can double check it for you.

    As for the SSD in Windows 7, Type this into an elevated command prompt;
    fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify


    You'll get one of two results:
    0 means TRIM is enables.
    1 mean Trim is not.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 766 Times in 700 Posts
    Clive,

    You want to update the BIOS.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Clive,

    You want to update the BIOS.
    Thanks R.G that all I needed to know. I already know trim is not enabled.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •