Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: dual booting

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    dual booting

    I have a strange question.
    I need to run two seperate domains using XP. They have different IP numbers. The firm that supports the one program (using a particular IP) said the best way to operate is to dual-boot.
    Questions:
    1. Is this the best way?
    2. If so, how does one have XP as both boot programs?

    Errol

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    THat sounds like massive overkill to me, dual-booting for the sake of additional domains.

    XP has an "Alternate IP Configuration" that you can set up. The intent, I believe, was for laptop users who move about, but there is no reason that you cannot set it up for your needs here.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dual booting

    That suggestion (dual-boot) sounds, uhmm... strange to me. Usually it's better to install second NIC card to connect to two different domains. For example, you can assign static IP address on one NIC and get one from DHCP server on another.
    Problem with dual-booting on XP machine is: standard XP installation requires about 1.2 GB on the hard drive, that means you need to create at least two partitions not less then 1.5 GB each for operating system only. Then it will be necessary to re-install all your sowtware for second operating system (usually it is possible use the same program folders for both OS, say, on the third partition.)
    After you created partitions, installation procedure is usual for dual-booting, but after second installation is complete, don't forget to distinguish OS editing BOOT.INI, something like "Windows XP Professional Domain A" and "Windows XP Professional Domain B"
    Another problem with dual-booting: you can't logon to both domains at the same time; you'll need to REBOOT your computer to logon to another domain.
    Once again: consider second NIC

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    It took a while for me to try out dual booting. I did make a dual boot but couldn't get the computer to recognize the second boot and "go there". It kept opening up only the second version I installed.
    I am now trying using a second NIC and that will probably be the solution.
    Any clues to the freason for the first problem?
    Errol

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Baltimore area, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    If you are really asking:

    "I want to host 2 separate internet domains using just one computer"

    Then this is an issue related to your web hosting software (for example, Internet Information Server) and your DNS resource records.

    If you are saying:

    "I want to operate 2 different intranet networks in the same building or group of buildings with different domain names and exchange data between them"

    Then you have a lot of studying to do in practical networking. As indicated above, one possible solution is to multihome a router computer with more than one NIC.

    Either way, your problem will not be solved by running 2 (or more) copies of Windows XP (or any other OS) on the same physical computer. The answers you need will come from a close study of web servers and networking. I'd like to suggest that you read the book "DNS and Bind" by Cricket Liu et al. This is an O'Reilly book and it will lead you to other networking-type book titles too.

    I'm sorry if I can't give you an instant answer that accurately addresses your specific concerns. The question you are asking is a large one and there are specialists who have certificates in these areas.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dual booting

    *********************
    Any clues to the reason for the first problem?
    *********************
    Check your boot.ini file in the root of your c: drive.
    If you install two versions on two different partitions, the syntax suppose to be like this:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINNT="Microsof t Windows 2000 Professional Domain 1"
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)WINNT="Microsof t Windows 2000 Professional Domain 2" /fastdetect

    Of course, partition numbers must correspond your partitions positions, and WINNT is the name of your Windows folders.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    Robert
    For my needs the two IP's must be on the same computer and not necessarily "visible" at the same time. Therefore dual-booting can be a solution. On IP connects to the internet using an automatically supplied number. The other IP is a static IP connected to a server providing a connection to an SQL server. I needn't have access to both IP's at the same time but MUST have access to each IP from the one computer. After the weekend I intend to try out both suggestions presented here, the setting up of the dual boot as laid out by Kaplinb AND the suggestion of two NIC cards.
    Another NIC card can also be a solution. The problem with that is connecting the computer to the hub. Wiring etc can be more of a problem than Dual booting.
    IF I can get BOTH methods to work I will them know which is more suitable for my needs..
    Errol

  8. #8
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: dual booting

    Errol.

    Mark's solution (Alternate IP Configurations) is probably your best solution. If you can ping both networks over the existing single NIC without recabling, then, adding a second NIC is both unnecessary and will *not* work.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    Mark and Ian
    I tried the "alternate IP" but it didn't (cannot??) work. My one IP is a static one connected to a SQL server the other is an internet connection given by my IP provider using DHNS. The XP doesn't (or can't) recognize an alternate IP in such a setup. At least from my trials that is the case.
    Errol

  10. #10
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: dual booting

    Errol. Did you mean DHCP, I don't know what DHNS is.

    Anyway, as I understand your situation now, you need to connect to a SQL server on your local LAN. In addition you need to connect to an ISP via ethernet to a cable or dsl modem. Is this correct?

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    ian
    Sorry for the typo, I wasn't concentrating. The answer to your question is "yes". What you have described is what I need to do, connect to a SQL server with a static IP AND from the same computer (not necessarilly at the same time) connect via ethernet to my ISP.
    Errol

  12. #12
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: dual booting

    You have two basic solutions available.

    1)Install a second NIC in your PC. Connect the cable/dsl modem to the second NIC. Use the Cable/DSL setup wizard to configure the ISP connection.

    2)Install a cable/dsl router on your primary LAN. Connect the cable/dsl modem to the router. Configure the router to connect to your ISP. Make the router your default gateway to the internet.

  13. #13
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: dual booting

    Hey Mark:

    You might want to take a look at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.netswitcher.com>NetSwitcher</A>. The latest version (3.2.3) fully supports XP and makes working with multiple network configurations a treat.

    Anyone who uses a notebook on multiple networks will appreciate it.

    (Saved my but this weekend once I upgraded to the XP compatible version. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>)

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual booting

    After trying (and succeeding) to dual boot., I installed a second NIC and use one card to connect to the SQL server and the other to connect to the internet. I am staying with using the two cards. Though the wiring was a slight problem, once done it is easier to use than dual booting. I can use both the programs on the SQL server AND connect to the internet without having to boot and reboot my computer for every change in my needs.
    THANKS TO ALL who gave advice. For me both lessons were important and helped solve a very real problem.
    Errol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •