New Lounger
    Thanks

Network Disconnects

Once every two or three days, my browser and email reader suddenly can't connect to the internet.
    No error message shows up to indicate this happening. I just suddenly can't update the data in either one.
    Attempts to disable/enable network connection, or to repair the connection don't work.

At the same time, my other computer, a laptop running Win7 is still connected through the same router, with no such issues.

Any idea where to start looking for the cause?

Dave S.
    Last edited by DaveSchell; 2012-11-12 at 19:03.

Thanks
    For starters, make sure your network card has the latest driver. Also, look in the event viewer for any relevant entries.
    Are you using the Router's Domain Name Server or did you set one on your PC?

Jerry

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't know if there is a newer driver for this card or not.
    I have been using it for several years, and only experienced this problem in the last month or so.

I am not using Domain Name.

Dave S.

Thanks
    The next time it hangs, try opening a command window and type the following to see if you can get to Google.com while bypassing DNS:
    ping 74.125.225.208

Let me know if it times out or you get a valid response. A valid response will point to a DNS issue.
    I would still check for an updated driver by going to the network card's manufacturer's web site.
    Also, if you are using a software firewall, disable it and your Anti Virus program temporarily to make sure they aren't interfering.

Jerry

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks, Jerry. I saw your input in the networking section after I had started this thread.

So since I first posted, I've gone to the Realtek site, downloaded and installed the latest driver, dated 2009.

I'm just using Windows firewall, with MSE as my anti-virus program.

I will try your suggestions of ping and ipconfig the next time my connection fails.

Dave S.

New Lounger
    Thanks