Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    How to format a HD with Win 7 installed on it?

    Just installed an SSD to replace my HD. How do I format the HD? Computer Management shows the HD as "offline" and no action can take place. Have tried Diskpart, Partition Wizard, EaseUS Partition Master and Paragon Partition Manager - all of which can not do anything to the drive.

    Thanks for any help.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 766 Times in 700 Posts
    CR,

    Did you boot the computer from a Partition Wizard boot CD or USB stick? That should do the trick if you haven't tried it.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    This sounds familiar - I've run into this several times in the past. My memory is failing me and I don't have a step-by-step procedure for you but its pretty simple. You need to bring up the Disk Management snapin (Control panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. You will see the new drive listed there but off-line.

    If I recall correctly, there in an option in the left pane right next to the new drive that allows you to bring the drive online.

    That should be all that you need to do.

    dwayne

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to DwayneR For This Useful Post:

    CRGibson (2012-11-19)

  6. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    RetiredGeek -I tried booting from the CD but still got "disk has changed, cannot do requested".

    DwayneR - Your suggestion worked. There was a little red dot on the word Disk 1. A right click gave choice of online. A click on online and the disk came online.
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •