Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    732
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts

    Need help understanding processing speed tests

    If this question belongs elsewhere, please move it accordingly: I run W7 Home Premium, use IE9, and have a Linksys router. If I go to Speedtest.com and run a download test, it comes back 27.27 Mbps. If I use Linksys' download test, it comes back 4.89 Mbps. Is that indicative of a settings problem somewhere or not? Thanks, Dick

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,744
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 1,196 Times in 1,092 Posts
    Neither test proves much, but I would offer the latter just proves that the access to the Linksys test site was not very fast, for whatever reason. Given that the initial test was way faster, I wouldn't worry too much about it. You can try the test a few more times, at different times of the day. To be honest, I really wouldn't worry too much. Too many factors can influence the download speed from a given site.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2012-11-18)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 68 Times in 67 Posts
    Dick,

    At first, I thought this might be a Mbps vs. MBps kind of miscalculation, but my results are identical on both Linksys and Speedtest.NET. Note the domain name there, as WOT warns that Speedtest.COM is a fraudulent site. Perhaps this is the cause of your discombobulation.

    Zig

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Zig For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2012-11-18)

  6. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    732
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
    Zig: I need some tea to wake up. I actually went to speedtest.net. Hopefully WOT gives that a clean bill of health? Dick

  7. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,626
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 934 Times in 854 Posts
    Dick, speedtest.net is fine. I use it often. I do not know how you get 27.7 mbps. I just ran it with RR Turbo and got 16.49 mbps. At times I approach 20 mbps, but I never get to what you are seeing. Perhaps I should contact Time Warner. I also have a Linksys router (E4200)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 81 Times in 80 Posts
    Dick,

    Do you use Kaspersky AV?

    That has been reported to affect speedtest results.

  9. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    732
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
    Browni: No, I just use MSSE. Ted: OK, but please don't turn me in; they might throttle me back. Dick

  10. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,626
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 934 Times in 854 Posts
    I would never turn you in sir. I just would like to speed up my connection. This morning I got 21.25 Mbps. I pay extra for the Turbo RR service. The test site is Syracuse. Since we are fairly close together I should get a similar speed. Make them check my connection.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    732
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
    Medico: I know that. That was just my poor attempt at humor. Dick

  12. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,626
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 934 Times in 854 Posts
    You're in trouble Mister!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 81 Times in 80 Posts
    What kind of speeds are you expecting?

    A good real world test is to download a recent uBuntu ISO from a local (ish) server.

  14. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    732
    Thanks
    341
    Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
    FWIW I just got 25.3Mbps when I retested on Speedtest.net. Dick

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger JC Zorkoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    I live near Boston and have Comcast as my ISP. I just ran Speedtest.net and selected the Syracuse/Time-Warner server.

    I clocked 67 Mbps download and 8.6 Mbps upload. So I would conclude that Time Warner is holding back on the speed of local connections with speeds of 25 Mbps or less.

    My normal local server shows 59 Mbps download and 11.3 Mbps upload as a comparison.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •