Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts

    Updating to Windows 8 RTM from RP, on a multiboot PC

    I wonder whether anyone has done the above, or can give any suggestions about any problems I might encounter?

    I want to upgrade my Windows 8 RP 64-bit partition with the equivalent RTM version.

    I'm using EasyBCD to handle the multiboot, with XP and Windows 7 being the other two bootable partitions.

    To add to the fun, I wish to actually perform the RTM software download on a completely different Windows 7 PC!
    (And I will incorporate the cversion.ini bodge on a bootable USB Flash Drive to enable a clean update from RP to RTM.)

    As far as I've gone, there is no information about whether the RTM download (2 GB) is 32-bit or 64-bit, or capable of both.

    Thanks!

    Later... Here's the relevant screen:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by BATcher; 2012-11-18 at 14:09.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    As far as I've gone, there is no information about whether the RTM download (2 GB) is 32-bit or 64-bit, or capable of both.
    Reported experiences from Lounge members make me believe the download has the same "bitness" of the OS where you downloaded it. 2 GB seems to point to a 32 bit install, just from the size.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The 2 Gb download is a 32 Bit. The 64 Bit is something over 3 Gb. You say the Win 8 RTM. Do you mean Win 8 Pro or Win 8 RTM from a MSDN or TechNet subscription?

    In order to use the Win 8 Pro Upgrade media you are supposed to be replacing a licensed OS. Win 8 RP was not licensed, but was provided free of charge. If Win 8 RP was installed over a licensed OS then it can be used to install Win 8 Pro. There has been much discussion on whether it is legal to install Win 8 Pro from the downloaded upgrade media without actually replacing the licensed OS. I guess it's technically possible, but many agree it's against the Eula to not replace the licensed OS with Win 8 Pro.

    If you are going from Win 8 RP to Win 8 RTM from a MSDN or TechNet subscription, there should not be a problem. During the installation you should be given a choice of:

    Install Now
    Install later from the Desktop
    Install by creating media

    I would definitely choose Install by Creating Media. This will allow you to burn to DVD or Flash Drive.

    Is the PC you wish to use to download a 32Bit OS or a 64 Bit OS? The Win 8 download will automatically choose the "bitness" you have installed to download the ISO file in the same "bitness". I believe there was some discussion on choosing which "bitness" to download, but I cannot seem to find it now. If you wish to replace a 64 Bit Win 8 RP, I would definitely use a 64 OS as the download OS. Just makes things easier.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Ted, you have good points there which I hadn't even thought of!
    I should buy the full RTM version from Amazon or wherever at double the price of the "upgrade" (44.98 rather than 24.99)...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Having the Full Install, OEM (the so called System Builders) version allows installation anywhere including a new HD without any OS installed. Be careful what you purchase. There is a Win 8 System Builder, which is actually the standard edition, then a Win 8 Pro System Builder. In USD Amazon has the Win 8 Pro system builder for $125. I do not know what the conversion might be. It appears Amazon is less expensive than Newegg at this point.

    Only the Pro edition qualifies for the free Media Center feature.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-11-18 at 14:28.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    I am updating a Dell Optiplex GX260 from Consumer Preview to Enterprise Evaluation, and it would not do an update. It gave me the option to do an Update or Custom install, and then after I selected Update, it told that It would not let me do it. So I backed up and am now doing a Custom install. It seems like it has been at Copying Windows files (56%) for way too long. I'll let it go for a while, and if it doesn't start again, I'll start from the beginning and reformat the hard drive.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If I remember correctly there is no upgrade path from Win 8 CP to any other Win 8 edition. The Win 8 Ent Eval edition is a 90 day time limited edition but is the RTM code. However, there is no upgrade path from Win 8 Ent. Eval. edition either.

    You can reformat the drive during the installation. After you choose Custom Install, I believe the next screen will give the Advanced (Disk) Option. After you choose this option on the next window, highlight the present drive and select Format, then continue the installation.

    For the Win 8 Ent. Eval. edition the drive could be formatted ahead of time since this is a full install copy. However during the installation of the Win 8 Pro, formatting ahead of time will not allow the use of the Upgrade Media. This format must be done during the installation.

    I am fairly certain you know these things, but there may be others reading this thread that do not know this stuff. I hope this helps.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    I gave up on updating from Windows CP to Windows Enterprise Evaluation, and Tried to boot from the DVD. It showed the Windows 8 logo, but never got to the circle thing that shows activity.

    Then I installed Windows XP Pro and ran the Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant. There were several problems, but since I have already been running Windows 8 CP on it, I didn't take them too seriously. The one I can't get around, is:

    Your processor doesn't have NX turned on or might not support NX

    I'm surprised that the installer let me get as far as it did. That seems like a problem in the install.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Starting with Win 8 RP MS is enforcing the more stringent CPU security profiles. You might be able to enable NX in your Bios or do a Bios update to enable it.

    Windows Club has a pretty good article about this.

    This also explains why Win 8 Ent. Eval would not install
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    The Dell Optiplex GX260 does not have a BIOS setting to enable NX, so I reinstalled XP Pro. It seems to be running better than it was with Windows 8. The graphics display in particular seems to be better.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Yes, if that is not abled to be enabled, then you might just as well go back. There have been many older PC's that do have this option, but not all. Sorry. Graphics have been a problem although they are getting better, audio drivers seem to be the other problem child.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •