Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Windows Backup Failing

    Windows Backup failed while trying to read from the shadow copy on one of the volumes being backed up. Please check in the event logs for any relevant errors. (0x81000037)

    This is Win7, I backup to an external hard drive and it has always functioned perfectly until this month. Last two tries have returned the error message above. I'm running on an HP Pavilion, 4GB Ram, Windows 7 Home edition, 64 bit system. Microsoft's site acknowledges the issue but I don't see a resolution there. Any ideas on how to fix this? I don't even know what a shadow copy is let alone why it can't be read. Everything else works. No Malware or Virus issues. I have noticed an issue though that may be related. Event scheduler "says" my schedule is accepted but it doesn't run automatically as it should and actually tries to run on a different day. Example, I have a scheduled backup on the 17th of each month, after Patch Tuesday, but Windows backup ignores that and tries to run on the 12th. When the backup HD is not "on" as I don't keep it on unless I'm preparing for the backup. Any ideas appreciated. Thanks. :^)
    Last edited by genej313; 2012-11-23 at 13:44.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Gene,

    The best way to fix it is not to use it! Try Macrium Reflect Free or EaseUS ToDo Backup Free.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Use the system file checker command;

    Open an elevated command prompt and type: "sfc /scannow" without the quotes.
    NOTE: When SFC runs, it logs it's actions to the C:\WINDOWS\LOGS\CBS\CBS.LOG. This will show you how to see only the specific SFC entries with the [SR] tags in the CBS.log. This can be helpful to show you what files SFC could not fix automatically if you wanted to try and manually replace them.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I agree with RG. A 3rd party Imaging app is superior to the Win 7 Backup and Restore IMO. I use Acronis True Image 2013, although this is not free.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well, I did a number of things. Ran chkdsk, it found 73 reparse points (which I have no idea about and MS doesn't explain very well what they are or where to find them or how to delete them). I did find while looking through log files IP conflict issues going back months which the machine never bothered to mention, so ran the ipconfig tool to reconfigure that. Turned off Windows backup and looked at Macrium and Ease - Ease had a couple extra features in the free version so went with that - not native English speakers I found, but the tool worked fine, did a file and system backup and created a bootable disk. I did look at some things about Acronis and will probably go with that in the future when it is out of beta. Used JV16 to do a deep scrub of the system and followed that with CCleaner, they each always find something the other missed. So all seems well at the moment though I am still annoyed that part of the system that should work doesn't. Trying to crawl around MS site on that error message is like being in a maze with no actual way out, lol. Thanks for the help guys.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Elevated command prompt? I am signed on as the administrator but opening cmd doesn't allow me to run sfc - says I need to be an administrator to do that. Which I am, I am the only user of this machine. Sigh. :^) Also did find cbs.log but can't access it even from an administrator account.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by genej313 View Post
    Elevated command prompt? I am signed on as the administrator but opening cmd doesn't allow me to run sfc - says I need to be an administrator to do that. Which I am, I am the only user of this machine. Sigh. :^) Also did find cbs.log but can't access it even from an administrator account.
    Even logged in as a member of the Administrators group, one still doesn't have full elevated privileges. In order to open a command prompt with elevated privileges, right-click on the command prompt shortcut and select Run as administrator.

    An easy way to view the log is to open an elevated Notepad, the same way as opening an elevated command prompt. Navigate to Windows\Notepad.exe and right-click, select Run as administrator. Next, click File > Open..., then change the file type to All files and navigate to Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. Select CBS.log and click Open.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Just an update - figured out how to create an elevated command prompt and scannow produced 963 pages of data!  Can not get Windows Explorer to run as administrator though what I did should have worked so I used my old DOS memory to copy the cbs.log file to cbs.txt which I was able to open.  But I won't be memorizing all 963 pages of that report, lol.  And will still use a third party backup program though Window's had done just fine for several years on this machine.  Thanks for the help guys!  :^) gene

  9. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I think your looking at maybe doing an overall system repair.
    I looks like you have a lot more issues than what is immediately seen.

    But before going ahead, make an image with a 3rd party application that can be recovered with a bootable disk, should that need arise.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    So, I've got a good backup and as with most systems no actual Windows Installation disk, just another partition on the internal hard drive. How would one go about accessing that to restore what appear to be some corrupt system files? Everything works, except windows backup which now simply hangs and doesn't allow a clean shutdown, but on reboot, nothing is out of whack, all files and programs are fine, just this goofy glitch with Windows Backup which I can circumvent by using another backup product. I'm wondering if it is worth doing anything really. Or alternatively, just how to use the original cd partition to reinstall Windows then go through the update process and restore files from my external backup.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Final note. After running SFC three times, I finally got a notice that it had found and repaired all corrupted system files. And everything is still working. Since I never touched any system files, have never had malware or a virus, I don't really get why or how system files get corrupted but since everything is working, I'm good. Thanks! :^)

  12. #12
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    System files can become corrupted by something as simple as a power failure (improper shutdown). Don't forget to make a drive image.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Used JV16 to do a deep scrub of the system and followed that with CCleaner, they each always find something the other missed.
    If one gets too aggressive with the scrubbers and cleaners, that's another way.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    If one gets too aggressive with the scrubbers and cleaners, that's another way.
    Quite right .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •