Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Logon screen only shows administrator account

    When I boot Win 8 the logon screen only shows the administrator account. How do I get it to show all users?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge.

    I'm not sure if this is what you need, but use Charms Bar, Settings, Change PC settings. On the Users tab is the Add User section.

    Did you set up a local account or a MS account to sign on with?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have one local account with my name.
    When I boot it shows Administrator. I then have to click the left facing circled arrow to get to the screen with Adminstrator, MyAcct, and Other user.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Perhaps if you disable the built in Administrator account. How To Geek shows how.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Deactivated the Administrator account and now it defaults to "Other user"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Was this a recent Upgrade to Win 8 or a new PC with Win 8 pre-installed? If it was an Upgrade, something may have gone awry during the Upgrade. You might try a Refresh of Win 8, but the Refresh will uninstall all but the Windows apps. In my mind the best method to correct a corrupt installation is to reinstall using a Custom Install from media.

    To accomplish this you will have to most likely use the link near the to of your email receipt you received when you purchased Win 8 from MS. During this next attempt when you get to the screen, choose Install by creating media. This will allow you to create either a bootable DVD or a bootable Flash Drive. It will allow you to burn the ISO file to the DVD or Flash. I realize doing a Custom Install will require reinstalling your apps, but the Refresh will also require this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Resolved

    FYI, reinstalling Windows 8 resolved this issue. Bare metal reinstall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •