Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do I maximize my 802.11 N throughput?

    I have a Sony VAIO laptop (VPCF23JFX) with 8 GB Ram and running Win 7 Home Premium X64 SP1. Purchased earlier this year to get the best of Wireless N as well as other recent improvements.
    I'm running a Belkin N1 Router off a Time Warner Cable Modem Ambit U10C018 .80. My measured thruput speed maxed at 54 Mbps. Thought the problem was I was using a router with the pre-standard "N."
    Since Time Warner is charging me for this Ambit modem, I've been looking for something classy with lots of pep to replace it. And while I was at it, maybe replace the couple of years old Belkin Router.
    The more research I did the more confused I got. (Been using PC's since '88, but not a techy). Sony tech support told me it didn't' make much difference, because my network card was limited to 2.4 Ghz and 54 Mbps! I ran SIW and it shows I have an Atheros AR9287 with 54 Mbps.

    Question 1: Is there anything I can do to increase my throughput speed with the existing setup?
    Question 2: Is there anything I can do to increase my throughput speed by changing cable modem or router?
    Question 3: Am I wasting my time with this PC?

    Please excuse my ignorance and thank you for your thoughts.

    Harris

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Hi,

    Qualcomm states that Atheros AR9287 is able to allow up to 300 Mbit/s download throughput, so it's weird that you got that info from Sony. Don't really know what to think about it.
    Have you checked your adapter configuration in Windows? Can you see if it is configured to allow 802.11n? I suspect it may be configured just to support 802.11g.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To Administrator: I reviewed the device Manager status for the Atheros and added "enable" to "ad hoc N"
    Rebooted and reran SIW and info still shows 54 Mgps

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    What other options are there? Doesn't seem like ad hoc N should be the option to choose.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    802.11 Bluetooth High Speed Value: Enable
    802.11b Preamble Value: Long and Short
    Ad Hoc 11n Value: Enable
    Network Address No values listed (blank)
    Receive Buffers: Value: 256
    Scan Value Interval Value: 60
    Transmit Buffers Value: 512

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    What encryption are you using? WEP?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Security Mode: WPA/WPA2 PSK
    Authentication: WPA-PSK
    Encryption: TKIP

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Is the router configured to allow 802.11g and n?

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My ignorance in this area is showing: How can I tell? It's an N-1 Router. When I go into the settings using Firefox, I go thru all the various menu items and I don't see anyplace that I can make any changes to a/b/g/N.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My ignorance in this area is showing: How can I tell? It's an N-1 Router. When I go into the settings using Firefox, I go thru all the various menu items and I don't see anyplace that I can make any changes to a/b/g/N. Thanks for your patience.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    I have a Belkin N+, so I am guessing the configuration pages should be pretty similar. In the wireless section, there is a link to Channel and SSID, which looks like below:

    Capture.JPG

    I am thinking you can choose the wireless mode and set it to something similar to mine.

    HTH

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is what mine shows on that page:
    123.jpg

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    Well, I don't really know what else to suggest. Both the router and the adapter seem to support 802.11n and it's clear from Qualcomm data on the adapter that download rates can go up to 300 Mbit/s. It's a bit hard to suggest anything else when I don't really know what the software for the adapter offers, and common failure points for similar situations seems not to occur with you. I am a bit stumped...

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I certainly appreciate your trying. Your pretty much where I am at this point. I have no idea why this router is restricted to 54 Mbps, but I have checked my thru-put and the number is correct. Since Time Warner is now charging me for my router, I'm trying to decide about replacement. Any thoughts? My router is also getting on and I probably should replace both. However, if nothing I'm going to do will increase my thruput capability, I'm really stuck about what to do.
    Thanks again for your assistance.
    Harris

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,220 Posts
    I have used Belkin's routers for a long while and they are reliable and offer the best throughput and range from those I have tried at home. Although your router is not new, I wouldn't look at it as the first point of failure.
    I would start by downloading inSSIDer, to analyze your current network and see if your router is doing what is expected and your network is a 802.11n. Once that is confirmed, you can get an USB adapter, a recent one, to use instead of your native VAIO wireless network adapter. Of course, before making a final decision about it, you could also, if you have that possibility, try the laptop in a known 802.11n network (a friend's, a public one), or even asking a friend with a working 802.11n adapter to drop by and see if he can connect at a great speed than yours.

    Also, your modem has no influence on this situation. This is either your router or your adapter, although I would think the adapter is the most likely cause.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Harris Guilmette (2012-12-03)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •