Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Rebuild desktop icons?

    This is an old question which has been around for years, but for me a new experience. All icons have an overlay by Microsoft generic icons following an M/S update . I can assure you that I have spend oodles of time of following millions of instructions of rebuilding of caches etc, including commands, restores and the result is still zilch. Is there anything I have not heard of ? OS is Win 7 HP. Michael

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    mikemi, Welcome to the Lounge.

    I have a batch file that has never let me down. Copy the following into Notepad and save to your desktop as RebuildIcons.bat

    Code:
    @echo off
    cls
    echo The Explorer process must be killed to delete the Icon DB. 
    echo Please SAVE ALL OPEN WORK before continuing
    pause
    taskkill /IM explorer.exe /F 
    echo Attempting to delete Icon DB...
    If exist %userprofile%\AppData\Local\IconCache.db goto delID
    echo Previous Icon DB not found...trying to build a new one
    goto :main
    :delID
    cd /d %userprofile%\AppData\Local
    del IconCache.db /a
    pause
    echo Icon DB has been successfully deleted
    goto main
    :main
    echo Windows 7 must be restarted to rebuild the Icon DB. 
    echo Restart now? (Y/N):
    set /p choice=
    If %choice% == y goto end
    echo Restart aborted...please close this window 
    explorer.exe
    :end
    shutdown /r /t 0
    exit
    Give it a try.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Medico , can you also cure bad back ?, I have an important game tomorrow.
    More to the point, I have followed your request , command got to -restart and then and then ? Nothing happened as I have found before over many days trying many suggestions by kind people . It is just so annoying as you can actually see the original icons being behind the ......, here I stop as the forum is for polite people. Any other cure ? Thanks again M.M

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry, that is what I have used whenever I had an icon problem. I have no other ides.

    I wish I could fix a bad back. Perhaps I could return to work!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    mikemi (2012-12-05)

  6. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,737
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 544 Times in 492 Posts
    Perhaps you have a corrupted profile. Try creating a new profile as shown here:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...d-user-profile

    Jerry

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,751
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 339 Times in 306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mikemi View Post
    It is just so annoying as you can actually see the original icons being behind the ......,
    This means that the generic icon you see on top is actually for the shortcut arrow overlay icon. Probably because you had previously used a tweaking program to use a smaller arrow or no arrow at all for shortcuts; and that used a custom icon (e.g. "blank.ico" in C:\windows) which has somehow now gone missing.

    There are alternative methods for restoring the shortcut arrow to the default or a blank/custom icon: Windows 7 Forums - Shortcut Arrow - Change, Remove, or Restore

    But I would try this free Windows Shortcut Arrow Editor from Winaero first.

    Bruce

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    mikemi (2012-12-05)

  9. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,191
    Thanks
    190
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi Bruce,

    I downloaded the Windows Shortcut Arrow Editor (zip file) from your link, but was told it was invalid and couldn't be unzipped. Any ideas as to why?
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  10. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    No ideas here except after a cache rebuild was unsuccessful, I'd be zippity doodah back to a restore point (unless by this line: "rebuilding of caches etc, including commands, restores and the result is still zilch," you meant system restore) before the MS updates and then only install one at a time with a reboot after each to see which one caused it, if it repeats.
    Last edited by F.U.N. downtown; 2012-12-04 at 13:07.

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,751
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 339 Times in 306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    Hi Bruce,

    I downloaded the Windows Shortcut Arrow Editor (zip file) from your link, but was told it was invalid and couldn't be unzipped. Any ideas as to why?
    It's one of those crazy sites where you have to be really careful which download link/button you click, due to ad boxes for other software.

    You need to click a blue/grey link or button twice, avoiding the big green download buttons! It downloaded and worked OK for me.

    If in doubt, try the Windows 7 Forums' "Vista" version from the first link (or use their regedit instructions).

    Bruce

  12. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Eureka !!! I have downloaded that editor, went to select your icon ( in this case a blank icon ) when it appeared on the desktop icons ( there were no arrows visible ), I went back to the editor and selected no arrows just for the hell of it and all icons have reverted back their original software icons , curious indeed but it worked . I must acknowledge one contributor who did refer of using an arrow editor before ( by others )which I did yonks ago , so possibly he was on the right track, bit yours Bruce was the one. Many thanks Michael. Isn't lounge great help ? You bet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •