Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What are XMarks bookmarks?

    What is the difference between xmarks bookmarks and firefox ?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,051
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 757 Times in 693 Posts
    Sportman4,

    XMarks is a FF/IE add-on that synchronizes your regular FF/IE bookmarks across multiple machines. Your bookmarks are stored in the Cloud and when your use a different machine/browser you can synchronize with the cloud to get the bookmarks you saved on other machines/browsers. I use this add-on to keep my bookmarks synced between 3 machines 2 of which are dual boot so effectively it's 5 machines. It works great IMHO.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek I am trying get XMarks synchronizes between browsers what do I do to do it ?

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,051
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 757 Times in 693 Posts
    Sportman4,

    First you have to load the add-on for each of the browsers, two different files.
    I assume you have setup an account with UserId & PW, you should have been prompted when you first installed it.
    Open the browser with the most bookmarks and Sync it. BTW in firefox you can add a button to the toolbar by right clicking and selecting customize then drag the icon to the toolbar.
    Close the 1st browser and open the second now and do the same.

    Here's a link to the help page.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek went to the link is xmarks free and the reason I want to use xmarks is I tryed to move my bookmarks from firefox to IE9 with out xmarks they all did not go to IE9 will they with xmarks ? please get back to me

  7. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,051
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 757 Times in 693 Posts
    Sportman4,

    I've had no problems at all moving them between the two browsers. YMMV
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    RetiredGeek
    you had no problems at all moving them between the two browsers with xmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •