Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Evanston, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista-command Prompt question

    At the DOS prompt, how can you resize the very small blue EDIT screen. I use this edit screen to compose long batch file routines Also, how can I make this blue DOS EDIT screen vertically larger so that I don't have to constantly scroll up and down.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 933 Times in 853 Posts
    I do not still have Vista, but on my Win 8 OS I can grab the top and bottom edges and drag them larger. Unfortunately I cannot do the same with the sides.

    If you use the Maximize button, the box will occupy the entire space from top to bottom of the screen. Again, side to side seems to be fixed. There is probably some plce to manually change this size, but I do not know it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,915
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 356 Times in 320 Posts

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    Medico (2012-11-30),RetiredGeek (2012-11-30)

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,496
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 852 Times in 784 Posts
    Bruce,

    Thanks for the link. I used to always create a shortcut and do the configuration there. I never knew you could do it once the command prompt was open.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 933 Times in 853 Posts
    Nice, I never knew this. Perhaps because I do not use cmd much.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,855
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    Nice one, Bruce - that's the best writeup on the Command Prompt window that I've ever seen!
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •