Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Too much security in MS Office 2010!

    Somehow, I changed a parameter that prevents Office apps with embedded links from bringing up the browser (MSIE 9) and displaying the target web site page, which it did previously. When clicking an embedded link in Outlook, Excel, Word, etc. I get this error: "This operation has been canceled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator." This message is too general for me to isolate the exact parameter that is causing this result. I know it's my fault, but I can't find the fix.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    OS - Win 7
    App - Office 2010

    (Also posted in Win7 forum.)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you know when this happened, perhaps a System Restore to just before the problem began will work.

    Please do not double post as this will just dilute the answers.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    benaitch (2012-12-13)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,795
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See if this Microsft KB entry helps:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310049

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    benaitch (2012-12-13)

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks for the fix.

    Jerry --the MS KB310049 link you provided did the trick. Thanks very much. (I wish I knew what had changed.)

    Medico --thanks for your input, but I had used up all the restore points trying to get the system back to normal. (I did a number of installs before discovering the problem. The uninstalls/re-installs used up all the restore entries, so I was scr**ed.)

    Again, thanks to you both.

    Ben H

  7. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,795
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Glad to hear you fixed your problem.

    Jerry

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •