Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Network path not found error

    Hi folks,
    Have main pc, Win 7 32, set up through wireless router to a Win 7 64, as "Workgroup".
    On the wireless pc, I can access my "main Pc", see all shared files, they will open etc.
    On the main Pc, I show the wireless, but when I click on the Icon, it opens a box and says "Network Path Not Found".
    BOTH PC's have Network Discovery turned on, Windows Firewall is turned off on Both. I can ping pc's both ways.
    I'm using MS Security Essentials on both.
    Where do I go from here?
    Thanks so very much,
    Tom

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,874
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    Do you have the same User IDs and passwords on both pcs? If not, try adding them.
    Also, look at the security tab in properties on the shared folders in the wireless PC. Make sure the main PC has the necessary access rights.
    Jerry
    Last edited by jwitalka; 2012-12-10 at 11:28.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,357
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    That's not an entirely new situation and sometimes it is very hard to solve. For a while, the only way to access my laptop from the desktop was to use \\Laptop-IP-address. It only got sorted when I repair installed Windows 7.

    Try the access using IP. I configured my router to assign the same IP to the laptop everytime and that made it easy to overcome the situation.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi folks,
    User IDs and passwords are identical.
    Un-shared / then /Re-shared the folders on the wireless pc - now the PC's see folders both ways and are accessable both ways....GO figure???
    Thanks so very very much for your interest and help.
    Tom

    PS - I "had" just done a repair install, so something must have gone goofy?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,357
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    Glad it's working, that's really what matters .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •