Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Multiple windows open

    I hope this isn't too stupid a question, but I have been searching the internet for days without finding a good answer. I read in two or three places that, in Windows 8, one can have only one program or document displayed or visible on the screen at any one time. One source said that MS should change the name of the OS from Windows to Window. At my work pc, running Windows 7, I have 2 monitors and almost always have several docs displaying at the same time (for example, 2 or 3 Word docs or perhaps a Word doc, an Excel file, and an Outlook email. Is this possible in Win 8? I've been told no. If this is correct, Win 8 would be a serious step backward for productivity. In my little corner of the world, I don't know anyone running Win 8 so am unable to verify. I did look at a pc running W8 in an office supply store. IE was open in a maximized screen (that is, taking up the full screen) and I could find no way to "restore" the window (that is, make it a resizable window taking up a partial screen). The sales person couldn't either. It was more like a giant smartphone than a Windows pc. Could someone please point me toward some answers. It's hard to believe that MS would cripple its OS like this. Thanks.

    Fafner

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Google shows some information about Windows Snap which is I believe what you are describing. This is a means of having 2 Win 8 Style apps open.

    Of course on the desktop, you can have as many apps open as in Win XP or Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    What your description refers to was the Metro interface which only allow one window except for the snap feature Ted described and is common in all mobile OS's that Metro was designed to emulate. The Windows 8 desktop will allow just as many multiple windows as previous Windows systems like Windows 7.

    Jerry

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks much for the replies.

    Fafner

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I hope they help and answer some of your question.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,094
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 240 Times in 233 Posts
    And you have to use the desktop version of the software, not an app version because as soon as you click on an app version it will open up full screen on the metro screen, necessitating a switch back to the desktop screen to get back to the other windowed desktop applications.

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
    I haven't seen Windows RT yet, does it have a desktop? Or is it Metro only?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    Windows RT has a rudimentary desktop that only Microsoft can install applications to (Like Office). As a user, you can't install any Windows Applications, only Metro Apps.

    Jerry

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,094
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 240 Times in 233 Posts
    From what I've heard about practical use, it's almost mandatory to have mouse and keyboard when on the RT desktop; maybe a stylus would work fairly well too. Unless one has the daintiest of fingers, touch isn't too useful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •