Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,194
    Thanks
    190
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    How can I get the Win 7 Style Solitaire Game for Windows 8?

    Is it possible to get the Windows 7 style Solitaire game for Windows 8, and if so how? (I don't like any of the versions in the Solitaire Collection).

    Advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Triple Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 with IE11, Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit with IE11 & Windows 10 TP (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry, it is no longer possible. The methods available in Win 8 CP and Win 8 RP no longer work as the Solitaire patcher is no longer available. This was a temporary solution until Win 8 Pro was released and the versions from the app store were available.

    I quite like the MS Solitaire collection from the app store. I generally only play Free Cell, but the graphics seem better than the Win 7 version.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    @royw
    Using instructions that Medico gave for CP some time ago, I was able to install Spider on a friend's Windows 8 Pro computer. He has been playing Spider since purchasing Windows 8 without issue. I saved that patch file but don't know how I could get it to you. Only way I know is through Skype or TeamViewer.

    Rich

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    The problem is the patcher site is no longer valid. Without that the method will not work.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    Ted,
    If I have the patch file why do I need to be concerned about the site?

    Rich

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I guess you don't, but others that have asked about it do. I originally posted that as a temporary way of getting Free Cell back because I enjoy this game during my off times. Now that there are versions available for free directly from MS, I choose to use those instead. There was some discussion at the time if this patcher file was strictly legal. My feeling at the time was that because there was nothing available from MS Now that Win 8 Pro is available with free offerings easily accessible from MS that allow these card games to be played, I feel the method used during the beta days are not for me, and the original link I found is now broken.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-12-11 at 08:43.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    424
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    Is it possible to get the Windows 7 style Solitaire game for Windows 8, and if so how?
    See http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...-in-Windows-8?

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to - bill For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-12-11)

  10. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I'm glad someone had the time to find a new link for this issue. Since I use the MS offerings, it was no longer a priority for me to search for another method to accomplish this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    A FWIW here. I use Solitaire from W-98 and it works fine. I have religiously kept it on a USB key all these years and move it to any OS that I progressed up to, W2K, Vista. W-7 and now W-8. Let me add that I also run Office 2000 on this W-8 machine and my Toshiba laptop, not a problem !
    When moving Solitaire to your machine, do not forget the cards.dll, it will not work without it, it is married to Solitaire. JP.

  12. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,194
    Thanks
    190
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for all the replies, particularly bill's, thanks to which I now have Solitaire working in Win 8.
    OS Triple Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 with IE11, Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit with IE11 & Windows 10 TP (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •