Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts

    No "Windows Repair"?

    It seems there is no way to repair windows 8 with a "repair disk" or from the original WIN 8 installation disk. I (somehow) messed up my MBR and was unable to get up and running again without recovering my entire boot disk image with my Acronis TI 2013 recovery disk. Fortunately I had completed my latest full backup only an hour or so previously(!) As far as I can see, the only recovery/repair options offered by Win 8 result in the loss of third party applications, or third party applications AND all settings. There is a "repair" function via advanced startup, but this presumably presupposes a fully functional MBR. Am I correct?

    (My Setup: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 8.1 Pro (64 bit); 16GB RAM; SAMSUNG SD840 PRO SSD (6GB/SATA III); Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2014 Premium, NIS 2015, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). (UEFI-booted)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 933 Times in 853 Posts
    I believe the Automatic Repair Option in Advanced Options will see a fudged MBR. It did in earlier versions and I believe it might in Win 8. Also the MBR can be fixed with a command prompt. This article explains how.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    petesmst (2012-12-27)

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
    Thanks a ton Ted. I did not even think of going via Dos. (Getting old!!) The Automatic repair did not work, hence my opting for restoring my backed up image. (Any way, now I know for next time!!)
    (My Setup: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 8.1 Pro (64 bit); 16GB RAM; SAMSUNG SD840 PRO SSD (6GB/SATA III); Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2014 Premium, NIS 2015, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). (UEFI-booted)

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 933 Times in 853 Posts
    I hope this helps others as well. Glad you had an up to date Image. I always have an Image that is at most 1 month old.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,329
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 117 Times in 100 Posts
    ATIH has a recovery option which only restores the MBR and nothing else. It's in the installed version and the Rescue Media. Macrium Reflect's WinPE Recovery Disk can also recover an MBR only from an Image archive. I've done this twice, once on my Windows XP laptop and once on my Windows 8 partition.

    Windows 8 still has the same sort of Repair Disk creation feature as Windows 7. Read here .
    -- Bob Primak --

  7. #6
    4 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
    @bobprimak: Thanks for that. Yes, I attempted to use Acronis TI MBR recovery, but the process "seemed" to hang (nothing happened for about two minutes), so I decided to go ahead and recover the entire image. Perhaps I should have waited a bit longer?(!)
    (My Setup: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 8.1 Pro (64 bit); 16GB RAM; SAMSUNG SD840 PRO SSD (6GB/SATA III); Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2014 Premium, NIS 2015, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). (UEFI-booted)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,530
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 500 Times in 460 Posts
    All you really needed to do was boot to the recovery console's command prompt and rebuild your MBR & or BCD.
    bootrec.exe /rebuildbcd
    bootrec.exe /fixmbr
    Worked for me and I've had to do this altogether too many times because Windows 8 wants to either create separate volumes for
    bootfiles, or place them on an entirely separate drive.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-12-30 at 07:42.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  9. #8
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,329
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 117 Times in 100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    All you really needed to do was boot to the recovery console's command prompt and rebuild your MBR & or BCD.

    Worked for me and I've had to do this altogether too many times because Windows 8 wants to either create separate volumes for
    bootfiles, or place them on an entirely separate drive.
    In the beta versions, yes this was also a problem in my dual-boot. Now in Final Release Pro version, it doesn't seem to happen. But I still have Windows 7 wiping out my Windows 8 System Restore Points every time I switch OSes.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •