Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    AVG AntiVirus 2013 - 3 PC for free with rebate Newegg

    You folks have all helped me out so much, that I'd like to try to contribute in return. Cost is $25.00, then a $25 visa gift card if you file the rebate and get it. Either way it's a bargain. I'm doing a dual boot on a new build so getting the 3 user is fantastic. I can testify that I am a huge fan of AVG Pro as the interface is very user friendly and AVG does not seem to be as resource hungry as other alternatives. Oh yeah..., how about a link? (You'll want to decide quickly, as the sale is short-lived).

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832620056

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I am presently using AVG 2013 AV free version. I was just trying to compare the free versus paid version. I really do not see much of a difference if we're just talking the AV product, not the Internet suite product. Any idea what advantage there might be with the paid AV product versus the free AV product?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Ain't nuttin' wrong with AVG Free, that's for sure. I used it for years. But for me, the pay version is well worth it for some of the following reasons:

    No nag screen to get you to upgrade
    Greater peace of mind
    Features an "automatic healing" of infections
    Updates are instant without delay
    Includes spyware, malware, and adware detection
    User interface more configurable
    Other minor inclusions

    These are my major reasons. Well worth the small investment in my estimation. And with this deal, it IS essentially freeware!

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Gerard3 For This Useful Post:

    Medico (2012-12-15)

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks for this info. I'll have to check these out, right away. Well I just placed an order. Thanks Gerard.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-12-15 at 08:45.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    Thanks for this info. I'll have to check these out, right away. Well I just placed an order. Thanks Gerard.
    Woohoo!-- I am delighted that you found it of enough value, Ted. Yes, I went to the AVG site and I see that product comparisons between the free and pay are not so readily or obviously recognizeable. However, if one looks at these two following pages, one can see how much more robust the pay version is. Pretty much all you see in red on the pay version page is what you gain over the free version. I forgot to mention how much I appreciate the email scanner as well.

    http://www.avg.com/us-en/buy-antivirus
    http://www.avg.com/us-en/free-antivirus-download

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I also use the AVG free AV on both our Android phones. I am eagerly anticipating the arrival from Newegg.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I also use the AVG free AV on both our Android phones. I am eagerly anticipating the arrival from Newegg.
    Me too! And it sounds like you'll be able to put all 3 licences to use. And if I understand correctly, in a dual boot environment, I need two separate installations.

  9. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    That is what I believe as well. 2 separate OSs require 2 separate licenses. I was notified today that the disks have been shipped from New Jersey.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Usually the license is for ONE COMPUTER no matter how many operating systems you have on it.
    You can install on each operating system as long as they are on the same computer...

    Malwarebytes, Revo Uninstaller Pro all work this way..

    I checked with them when I purchased the programs and that what they told me.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    This is directly from AVG FAQ:

    Found Sales FAQ topics

    5183Do I need additional licences for multi-boot or virtual machines?

    If you are using multi-boot or virtual machines, the number of needed AVG licenses depends on the number of concurrently running operating systems protected by AVG. When multiple virtual machines are running on the same computer, additional licenses for AVG are required if you want to use AVG in more than one operating system.
    When using multi-boot, no additional licenses for AVG are required, since there is only one operating system running at one time.
    Examples:
    • If four virtual machines were concurrently running on the same physical host, the 5-computer license for AVG would be required.
    • If you have Windows XP and Windows 7 installed on your computer and you alternate between them, you need 1-computer AVG license for both operating systems.

    4324Do I need additional licences for multiple OS computer?

    Please be informed that no additional licenses for AVG are required for a computer with more than one operating system, since there is only one concurrent run of operating system.
    It does appear that one license will be sufficient because the number of needed licenses are dependent on the number of concurrently running OSs. That's why VM OSs would need a separate license. You can have more than one OS running concurrently in VMs.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-12-17 at 05:41.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Right Ted, that certainly clears things up..
    It's what I said...Most people don't have multiple operating systems running at the same time so the one liscense rule would apply.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  13. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks guys! That certainly does clear things up. Very interesting distinction. Now I find myself wondering if I can use those licenses in succession. I mean, rather than say, 3licenses to cover one year, use one license at a time in succession to cover three years. Curious that it is shipping from New Jersey. Everything I have gotten previously from Newegg come right from CA.

    Ted, I'm curious..., we ordered about the same time, and our orders shipped at the same time. This time I actually paid the extra $2.99 for rush processing. I wonder if you did as well.

  14. #13
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Newegg usually ships from their closest store..
    One near me is in Jersey and usually, if they have it in stock there, I get it the next day or two days at the most.

    I think using them in succession would depend if you could activate each license when you first use it or you have to activate the entire license when you get it..

    I'm not sure..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    No I did not. I do not need it that quickly. It's coming out of Jersey, but if things work as normal, it will be shipped to Arizona, then Oregon, then Buffalo, then Syracuse and finally Rochester. LOL Yours will probably go through Rochester, then Arizona, then Oregon, then to you in Ca.

    I would say probably not for consecutive licenses since the licenses are probably one and the same, one license covering 3 installs. If you find out otherwise let me know.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #15
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Ted, I tracked one once that went to Rochester and then it showed as "out for delivery"..It rode around on the truck all day and when the driver figured out there was no Big Indian in Rochester it went from Rochester to me...A day delay...

    Oh well..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •