Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oliver Springs, TN
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Cloning Windows 8

    Interesting article on how to access the feature to clone, and thus completely backup, your Windows 8 installation. The feature is in Windows 7 but remains in Windows 8 in a not so intuitive location.

    http://arstechnica.com/information-t...-your-whole-pc

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks for the info. In my case I prefer a 3rd party Imaging app. The Windows app has fewer features, and never seemed to work right for me.

    Personally I use Acronis True Image 2013. Acronis has a free trial. Many others use Macrium Reflect, Ghost or EaseUS Todo I just think the 3rd party apps give more options.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ted, allo. Agreed. I use Acronis too and have for the last 4 years. It has literally saved my bacon often enough as I give my machine a hard time, things I do to it !
    When I go over a decent move and it does not boot any more, out comes the clone and presto, I am back in familiar territory.
    I got in the last few months, a Barracuda HD and it came with such a programme, it was Acronis with another name on it, Western Digital ?? but the screen was the very same as Acronis. Why MS does not go that route is beyond me, of course. Jean.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    In fact, that's what I assumed Microsoft was working on when I first heard about its plans to make backup more user-friendly in Windows. A unified backup and restore system that can handle all backup scenarios, from individual files to the whole computer, seems like something the world's most widely used desktop operating system should have in 2012. Instead, Windows 8 provides several backup tools for different purposes. There's Metro backup, file backup, and traditional "Windows 7" System Images.
    Commenting on the article
    Backup is a tricky business for those less computer smart amongst us. There will always be some form of need to physically "setup" or "configure"
    an image based backup. Even the very best backup tools are useless unless one makes an effort to actually use them.

    The concept of "backup" is still not on the radar of a great many computer users, and there will likely be little MS can do to change any of that.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Of interest: I recently cloned my system disk to a new SSD from a HDD with Acronis TI 2013. No problems at all; and, interestingly, Windows did not ask to be re-activated; but for some strange reason, Office 2010 did!(?)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Peter, thanks for posting this worked for you. Many others have been asking if this will work. I assumed it would and have said so.

    Office is a different beast. If you hit the predetermined number of installs on a key it will require a call to MS for activation support.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •