Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 79
  1. #16
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks all, I'm glad that my case gets so much attention and support.
    Yes the repair install is probably the best (third party apps are not the problem, I have started without them, without success).
    But I have only an upgrade DVD ( the instalment of win7 is done as an upgrade from XP to Win 7 ) and this DVD refused to do an upgrade again because the present installment is more recent than the files on the dvd. I follow now the instruction from the link of ruirib to make a new bootable win7 sp1 dvd. More news later.
    An important argument for repairing restorepoint is also that every new instalment is horribly delayed by the efforts of the installer to make a restorepoint first. Only very few installers have the option to disable that procedure.
    ferdinand

    Update: there are a lot of warnings,
    1- the win7,sp1 iso files are for repairs of (Dell) Oem instalments, with oem keys. I have an upgrade, with an upgrade-key. So I fear my key won't work with this OEM-installation. ?? is it safe to use this ?
    2- to obtain a Dutch version (and I need that, because the existing version is Dutch too. I can find only professional versions, from with I have to delete the ei.cfg file (there is a handy tool to do that) to repair my home premium version. Does that complicate the key-question (see 1) ???
    Last edited by dieten; 2012-12-20 at 10:44. Reason: new complications

  2. #17
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Murray, Utah
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have the same problem. Cannot install the media center as it requires a restore point to be created. I will try the repair install.

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    System Restore.....

    I have had a few system restore failures over the years. Re-installed way too many times. Refused to also pay for any imaging backup software. But now there a few good ones available for free. I use Paragon Backup & Recovery 2012 Free edition. I bought an external hard drive for $29 on the internet. Best thing I have ever done for my sanity. Have used it many times. Only because I experiment with way too many software downloads. Microsoft updates also cause me grief from time to time. I also use it for family members on my backup drive in case they end up with a serious virus or just from being careless. That includes Win 7, XP, and Vista systems.

  4. #19
    New Lounger Achaean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I agree too, for disabling altogether system restore for avoiding delays and choosing a third-party imaging software.
    My personal vote going to Paragon (free version), because I had problems with Acronis when I was using it.
    But just in case who someone want to try it, many hd vendors has previous versions that are providing for free to their customers.
    Eg. Seagate related page is here: http://origin-www.seagate.com/suppor...ard-master-dl/
    Keep in mind, that isn't the latest Acronis version and has only the basic functionality. Still it's OK for using it for backups.
    You have to have a vendor's hd, connected to PC, in order to work.

    Personally, for my Win7 backup, I switched to Clonezilla livecd, but I can recommend it only to very experienced users who are comfort with Linux ncurses interface.

  5. #20
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dieten View Post
    Update: there are a lot of warnings,
    1- the win7,sp1 iso files are for repairs of (Dell) Oem instalments, with oem keys. I have an upgrade, with an upgrade-key. So I fear my key won't work with this OEM-installation. ?? is it safe to use this ?
    I kinda missed your post, probably because it was an update - a reason to post new issues in new posts, instead of editing existing ones.
    Which downloads are OEM downloads?
    2- to obtain a Dutch version (and I need that, because the existing version is Dutch too. I can find only professional versions, from with I have to delete the ei.cfg file (there is a handy tool to do that) to repair my home premium version. Does that complicate the key-question (see 1) ???
    It might, but I can't be sure. If you proceed, a full image seems to be even more in order.

  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Here is what worked for me

    I turned off System Restore. Ran my computer for about a month. Turned System Restore back on. It worked fine. I don't have a clue what happened.

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, PA, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    My solution

    About a year ago, I too, had a problem with creating a restore point. Shortly afterwards, I found that my Windows backup didn't work either. Much research, and then I found the problem. Allotment of space for System Restore. Check out this link: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...estore-require
    It worked for me.

  8. #23
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Still the same problems (see last post page 2 above). But one new information: I installed Macrium reflect free 5.1 and made an image of the boot-partition "C\". In the start-up of the image-making I got the message: "failed to create Volume Snapshot for C, result code 0x80042316 (using pssnap.sys instead)". and Macrium made an image nevertheless. On a macrium-forum I found a proposed solution for this errorcode: vssfix.exe. But that does not work for me.
    Can the failing Snapshot be the problem for my restore-point and back-ups???
    For the moment I continue to prepare a the restore-bootdvd of Macrium to prepare a repair-instalment. That means that I have to trust that the image is good, although the snapshot failed.
    Anyway, everybody all the best for 2013

  9. #24
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Ferdinand, sorry to see your still having problems. I can give you a link to download an Acronis recovery ISO, when burned to a CD will allow you to make an image backup.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #25
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Roderunner,
    I have an image made by Macrium, and it verifies as good. I dont want to spent money on Acronis that will make an image, probably with the same workaround of using "pssnap.sys". I just hoped that somebody knows why the Volume Snapshot failed and that by solving that, all other problems would be solved too.
    I continue with Macrium, although the next step : installing the "windows automated installation kit" that willl make the recovery CD? will not start yet (probably because it tries to make a restore-point!!)

  11. #26
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi dieten, the Acronis recovery ISO I offered you would not cost you anything. You could have tried it to see if you liked it.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    dieten (2013-01-03)

  13. #27
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roadrunner, yes I like to recieve the file. I finally succeeded in getting the Macrium making a recovery CD (win PE3.0) but the CD won't boot: I/o error 0x00000e9. and without a working recovery-procedure I don't start the repair-instalment of course. many thanks.
    Last edited by dieten; 2013-01-03 at 10:45.

  14. #28
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  15. #29
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roderunner , I got it. I tell you how it worked by Monday.

  16. #30
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    no good way to boot and restore the image of C

    Sorry Roderunner,
    I think you overestimated my knowledge. I cant get you Iso file working. I mounted it and copied the files to a sd-card, but that wont boot. Also I started in the mounted drive the mouse.com (the only file that can be opened) the promt-screen started, and than errors with com2; com3; com4 and the screen was gone again. Is this error maybe related to the problem of the Macrium boot-cd, that won't work because of an I?O error.
    After all I don't have a combination of an image of C and a boot-cd (or card). So I still don't dare to do the repair install and have still the 2 original problems.
    Ferdinand

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •