Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Fields Underlining not printing 2010

    We have many templates (forms) where we use the legacy FORMTEXT fields underlined to appear like the text is typed on the line. These forms have worked like this for years.

    We have a form created recently using the font Calibri where the FORMTEXT fields are not printing with underlines. The underline prints before and after the field information and the blank form prints with all the underlines. I cannot find anything causing this issue.

    I have checked the font, styles, paragraph spacing (Single) with 2pt before. I've removed the fields and added new. I've reapplied the style and tried manually applying bold and underline.

    I have run out of ideas. Do you have any ideas?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I had this problem and resolved it by selecting from the beginning of the underline, through the form field, and to the end of underline. Then I turned (Ctrl-U) underline off for the selection. Leaving the range selected, I used Ctrl-U again to turn underline back on. This time it stuck. Maybe this will work for you.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,853
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    I usually try to avoid underline character formatting because I believe it makes the text too hard to read.

    Have you considered putting the formtext fields into table cells and including the bottom table border instead of doing this with underlines?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried this with the fields and saved the document. When I use the form and enter data, the underline for the field goes away. If I select the line area and as you suggested turn underline off and on, the underline sticks for the field.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, Andrew

    There are some documents that we use tables for the Formtext. This particular form doesn't seem to work with tables. Each row has different number of fields or different length of fields.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    Actually "each row has different number of fields or different length of fields" may not be a show stopper. You can enter each row as a separate, 1-row table with the appropriate number of cells. When you've done all the rows, you can delete the s between to join the tables. (Note that if the tables are not the same width or not at the same indent, the rows may not really join.)

    I like this method because you can use one style for the data labels and another for the data—to produce a more readable form.
    Last edited by PamCaswell; 2012-12-20 at 01:07.
    Pam Caswell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •