Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Opinions about new version of Malwarebytes?

    Would appreciate any opinions on the new version of Mal-ware Bytes likes or dislikes.
    Thanks,
    Phil.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,848
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    You mean the free version?

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70.0.1100

    New Features:
    • New program logo and icons
    • Heuristics for 0-day exploit detection now implemented in protection module for PRO version
    • Threats detected by the protection module are now quarantined automatically by default
    • Malwarebytes Anti-Malware now shows Windows 8 START screen notifications
    • More Tools tab enhanced with tons of new content and more to come in the future
    • Option to allow a threat to run temporarily (Allow Temporarily) added to filesystem protection prompts
    • Option to add a detected item to the Ignore List (Allow Always) added to filesystem protection prompts

    Improvements:
    • Heuristics for detecting new and unknown threats improved
    • Scanner efficiency improved
    • Microsoft Windows 8 and Internet Explorer 10 now identified correctly in scan logs
    • Help file updated to include information on new features
    • Better compatibility with many other security products in realtime
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to BATcher For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-01)

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes I unfortunately left that part out.
    Phil.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I use MalwareBytes Pro. Seems very similar to me. It just does it's thing in the background. Very useful tool. The only appreciable difference that I see is the tray icon. Now looks very similar to the Spybot Search and Destroy tray icon.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-01)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,848
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    As Ted says in your duplicate post, the only obvious difference is a new icon, which looks like (a) PacMan lying on its/his/her back. The operation of the program appears remarkably similar to previous versions...
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to BATcher For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-01)

  9. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I did merge these 2 threads. It becomes rather difficult to follow along when 2 identical threads are started in different forums.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-01)

  11. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both very much for your input and thank you for the merging of the two would have done so if I had known how.
    Phil.

  12. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    You are welcome. Unfortunately only moderators or Administrators can manipulate threads in this manner.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-01)

  14. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    465
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks again and thanks for that bit of information.
    Phil.

  15. #10
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    I use MalwareBytes Pro. Seems very similar to me. It just does it's thing in the background. Very useful tool. The only appreciable difference that I see is the tray icon. Now looks very similar to the Spybot Search and Destroy tray icon.
    Curious I'm using MSE and free version of MBytes, I thought about getting Pro Version but was wondering if it will play nice with MSE and is it a one time pay (I forgot)

  16. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I had MSE, and now AVG 2013 Pro and MalwareBytes Pro "plays" nice with both. The biggest difference between MalwareBytes Free and Pro is that the Pro version runs in real time whereas the free edition only does manual scans.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  17. #12
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thank you, now one more question I thought I would try the 2 week trial version. I never know what to do with the free version I have installed (not only MB, anything) I usually try to contact support but they may or may not get back to me.

  18. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Just uninstall the free version. I used Revo Uninstaller for this, but Windows Programs and Features should work as well. Then install the trial version. If you have problems you can always reinstall the free version.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2013-01-02)

  20. #14
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    Just uninstall the free version. I used Revo Uninstaller for this, but Windows Programs and Features should work as well. Then install the trial version. If you have problems you can always reinstall the free version.
    Well I did get the rascal installed last night and all appears to be working will know more today as it is scheduled to update at 2:00.

  21. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Phil, I have every expectation it will work well for you. By the way you can go through the options and change the times it checks for signature updates. I have set mine for hourly. I like to keep up to date. It just pops up a small box in the lower right corner advising of the update.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2013-01-06)

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •