Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Do I need all these SQL Server versions?

    After a successful upgrade from Win 7 HP 64 to Win 8 Pro on my desktop PC, I did the same thing on my laptop. Does anyone know of a way to determine if I need all the SQL servers that are installed? I've included a snip shot from Control Panel |Programs and Features.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Win 8.1 (Update) Pro 64bit on Toshiba Ultrabook w/ Intel Core I3, 120gb SSD, 6gb RAM, and on ASRock Desktop PC, latter with 890GX Extreme 3 AM3, PII X3 740 BE (running as X4), 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, CM 692II Case, CM Silent Pro M600 PS, AC Freezer 7, Kingston SVP S2/96gb SSD, LaCie 2TB, H.I.S. ATI Radeon HD 4670, Samsung 23" Mon/HDTV.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,261
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,152 Times in 1,061 Posts
    In terms of need, it really should be you answering that, it's very hard for us to tell.

    You basically have a full edition of SQL Server (2008 R2 version) and two editions of the compact version. Doesn't look like the compact editions even take much space, so I see no reason to remove them, even if you do not need them.

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, ruirib - I do not make direct programming use of SQL but software installs over the years (Office 2010 Access, a MS CRM, etc. have installed these as needed. I'm now having a problem with an install of another program that requires SQL Server 2008 Express R2, and is supposed to install it (and Windows Installer 4.5) if it does not find them. It apparently sees what it needs on my laptop, and completes a "successful" install, but then flashes an SQL access error when it runs. The error message lasts a micro second so I cannot decipher the whole problem. I was hoping there was a utility that would show what SQL server software was being used by which programs - perhaps the new Win 8 Task Manager will help. Also, I'll try to install it on my Desktop PC and see what happens. Both are running a Win 8 Pro OS.
    Last edited by haybarn; 2013-01-05 at 13:06.
    Win 8.1 (Update) Pro 64bit on Toshiba Ultrabook w/ Intel Core I3, 120gb SSD, 6gb RAM, and on ASRock Desktop PC, latter with 890GX Extreme 3 AM3, PII X3 740 BE (running as X4), 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, CM 692II Case, CM Silent Pro M600 PS, AC Freezer 7, Kingston SVP S2/96gb SSD, LaCie 2TB, H.I.S. ATI Radeon HD 4670, Samsung 23" Mon/HDTV.

  5. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I was able to read the error - "SQL express is not installed" when running the new program. So, even though I have everything I need, there is a problem I do not know how to troubleshoot.
    Win 8.1 (Update) Pro 64bit on Toshiba Ultrabook w/ Intel Core I3, 120gb SSD, 6gb RAM, and on ASRock Desktop PC, latter with 890GX Extreme 3 AM3, PII X3 740 BE (running as X4), 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, CM 692II Case, CM Silent Pro M600 PS, AC Freezer 7, Kingston SVP S2/96gb SSD, LaCie 2TB, H.I.S. ATI Radeon HD 4670, Samsung 23" Mon/HDTV.

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,261
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,152 Times in 1,061 Posts
    SQL Express was not on that list, that's for sure.
    Not sure what app needs it, but most apps that use SQL Express can use full SQL Server versions, although they need to be configured for that.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,432
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 494 Times in 454 Posts
    I have a sneaking feeling that your upgrade install is probably the culprit here.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Clint and Ruirib - For comparison purposes, I installed the same application on my desktop and it runs without errors. My desktop was also a Win 7 HP 64bit OS upgraded with Win 8 Pro. It differs only in hardware as all the software apps are the same and all data folders are synced to the cloud and laptop. The installed SQL servers are attached. There is one less SQL Server 2008 entry, and no "compact" versions - otherwise no discernible difference from the problematic laptop. I've also compared the details of the new program's folders under both Programs and Programs X86 on each PC and the contents are an exact match Would it be possible/dangerous to uninstall all SQL servers on the laptop and then look for replacements via Windows Update, etc. (after making an image backup!)?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by haybarn; 2013-01-06 at 08:51.
    Win 8.1 (Update) Pro 64bit on Toshiba Ultrabook w/ Intel Core I3, 120gb SSD, 6gb RAM, and on ASRock Desktop PC, latter with 890GX Extreme 3 AM3, PII X3 740 BE (running as X4), 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, CM 692II Case, CM Silent Pro M600 PS, AC Freezer 7, Kingston SVP S2/96gb SSD, LaCie 2TB, H.I.S. ATI Radeon HD 4670, Samsung 23" Mon/HDTV.

  9. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I just noticed the SQL Server Browser on the laptop is much older - could that be the issue?
    Win 8.1 (Update) Pro 64bit on Toshiba Ultrabook w/ Intel Core I3, 120gb SSD, 6gb RAM, and on ASRock Desktop PC, latter with 890GX Extreme 3 AM3, PII X3 740 BE (running as X4), 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, CM 692II Case, CM Silent Pro M600 PS, AC Freezer 7, Kingston SVP S2/96gb SSD, LaCie 2TB, H.I.S. ATI Radeon HD 4670, Samsung 23" Mon/HDTV.

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,261
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,152 Times in 1,061 Posts
    I don't think so. You actually do not have SQL Server Express edition installed. You'd need to see if your app can use full SQL Server and how you can configure it for that.

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't have any start menu entries for SQL server either, and when I dug through program files and program files x86, I couldn't find any executables that gave me anything that looked like the mentioned program.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,496
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
    Microsoft SQL Server is a completely separate program that has to be installed. The Express version is free and can be downloaded from the Microsoft website.
    Wendell

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    162
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    Does anyone know of a way to determine if I need all the SQL servers that are installed?
    Sure. To see if it is safe to remove an SQL instance I would first stop the server. Run ALL your software to see which one, if any, uses the sever instance. If ALL of your software works then it may be safe to remove. Hopefully after you do a backup.

    WARNING: Removing an SQL server can "break" some applications.


    It is possible that an uninstalled did not remove its SQL server. Have you installed and then uninstalled any software on your laptop?
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •