Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Charm bar and date/time appear for NO reason!

    I am really not loving Windows 8 and have already disabled the start menu and THOUGHT I had disabled the charm bar. The thing is, this thing pops up when I am nowhere near the edge or corners. Just trying to move from one thing to another on websites, and BAM there it is again! I would like to downgrade to 7 but 8 came preinstalled on this laptop and I feel like I'm stuck. I do not have a touchscreen and wish I'd paid attention when buying this machine dangit!

    Anyway, is there any way to completely get rid of the charms bar, I will NEVER ever use it, I'm oldschool

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You ought to go back and examine exactly what you did in terms of tweaking, because it is obviously
    abnormal behavior to have the charms bar come up in the way you describe.

    The start screen, if that is what your are referring to, cannot be disabled. It can only bypassed to a degree.
    The charms bar cannot be completely disabled either, only made to be less intrusive.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i just used a program called Disable Metro Suite. Thanks

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Can its effects be undone?

    Different advice on how to tame the charms bar: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...the-Charms-Bar

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Is this the app you are referring too?

    Some of us may want to test this, or at least check it out. This app appears to be a portable standalone executable.


    ghacks: Skip Metro Suite is your all in one getting-rid of Windows 8 Metro solution
    WinAero: Skip Metro Suite 3.0

    although when all is said and done, it cannot completely disable or remove anything.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Can its effects be undone?

    Different advice on how to tame the charms bar: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...the-Charms-Bar
    Tried this, still having the issue

    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Is this the app you are referring too?

    Some of us may want to test this, or at least check it out. This app appears to be a portable standalone executable.


    ghacks: Skip Metro Suite is your all in one getting-rid of Windows 8 Metro solution
    WinAero: Skip Metro Suite 3.0

    although when all is said and done, it cannot completely disable or remove anything.
    Yes, this is what I tried first.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You might also try running a thorough AV/AM scan on your computer as well.
    If the AV/AM scan comes up negative, a possible OS repair or refresh may be in order.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I would probably ask for the app's developers help on undoing its effects. An alternative, if that does not work, would be a Windows refresh or even a factory reset, after properly saving your data.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you use Start8 or Classic Shell, you can totally disable the Hot Corners including the Charms Bar. I have used both to do so on our laptops. Works like a charm, no pun intended.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Note that Classic Shell's disable of the hot spots only works on the desktop. They remain in TIKAM (the interface formerly known as Metro) It wouldn't surpise me that this is true for the other hot spot disable methods as well.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •