Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N. W. Florida,USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista and SSD question

    I know that Windows 7 and 8 have SSD capability. I don't know if Windows has a patch to allow Vista to use SSD's ;solid state drives. I fully expect headaches with the BIOS on these dated machines but the one I'm thinking about converting will be from scratch. I've heard horror stories about cloning from one to another so a clean instal and update is planned. It's the last upgrade I can make on this,"Designed for XP, Vista capable machine.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,588
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 1,182 Times in 1,081 Posts
    The SSDs are not really OS dependent, other than the OS being able to support the specific type of disks in use. SSDs are usually SATA disks, which means that they will can be supported even in XP (although this may be harder), but are definitely supported from Vista on, where SATA supported was included right from the beginning.
    That said, most manufacturers can provided you with specific information about SSD support for your specific computer. Crucial does it. I would always try to obtain such information before parting with my money.

    I recently bought and installed a Crucial 256 GB SSD on my laptop. I had no trouble whatsoever doing it with a specific cloning kit provided by Crucial, which was effortlessly cheap (if for anything else, for the included USB -> SATA cable). Cloning the disk with it was incredible easy, so I will dispute your statement that cloning is not an option. It doesn't need to be used, if you so not want, but it can be used if you want to. My laptop was running Windows 8, when I cloned it and replaced the magnetic disk by the SSD.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 253 Times in 246 Posts
    With a clean install there is no issue if Vista is aware that it is dealing with an SSD and partitions it accordingly (aligned on a boundary). I don't know if Vista is like 7 in that respect or XP (not aware).

    A simple workaround if its not is to create a partition and format the SSD on a Windows 7 machine and then install Vista to the partition without any further formatting. Paragon also makes a tool for $30 or so that will align the partition after the fact. This allows me to clone to any SSD and fix the alignment afterwards if the cloning process does not allow for SSD partition alignment.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 122 Times in 97 Posts
    There is no reason Vista would not be fine on a SSD.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Win8Logo.jpg

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,655
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 524 Times in 481 Posts
    Windows Vista does not support TRIM, which is somewhat bewildering.
    So check with the manufacturer of the drive to see if it has some form of garbage collection capability independent of the OS.
    If it's Intel or Crucial it probably does. If it's OCZ it probably does not.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.


    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •